Prompt: I stood up and gave my name. . .

‘I stood up and gave my name. . .’ (10 mins)

I stood up and gave my name. I said it loudly. I’m Jo. Yes, I stood up and I gave my name. I want to be counted in. I want to be in the number of saints marching in. Leave me not behind but lead me through the pearly gates of heaven.

I stood up and gave my name. St Peter looked at me and said, ‘My child, my sister, how long has it been since I looked out for you. . . Today you celebrated the memorial  of St Ignatius of Antioch, my immediate successor to the papacy. He died a martyr. He loved that privilege. What about you, my daughter? It’s been a long journey. It’s been a long long road but all come safely through the narrow path. You have been faithful. Come, let’s find your name in the Book of the Living then. . .’

But I realised that it was just a dream. Yes,  I dream often of the life to come. St Peter has said that when my earthly tent folds up, I will have a home in heaven. . . the mansion Jesus is preparing.

How many times have I pondered and reflected? I have so many friends in heaven. They have gone ahead of me. Death, where is your sting? Death, who is afraid of you?

I stood up and gave my name. I should like to do that – give my name to Jesus, that he may put it in the Book of Life. Amen.

Leave a Reply

