Reflection on April 13 Reading John 21:7 ” It is the Lord”

Thank you Jesus for standing on the shore of my life. Open my eyes to see you and my heart to share you with others you love. On the cusp of yet another possible fork in my life I seek you Lord who stand ever so faithfully and unwavering on the shore of my life, so silent, so quiet, so serene, like the rising sun shining on me now in the cool cafe of Toa Payoh Hub. The warmth is not diminished and the light is not reduced. The glass that separates us only protects , only shields against your glory and hides my sinfulness. You can see through my soul just like this glass with such clarity and transparency.

Why are we seeking to fulfil our purposes? Why are we drawn towards creation and relationships? Why are we engaged in sowing seeds of service and enlarging the realms of His Kingdom?

Perhaps we are meant to crave for perfection since we are made one notch below Him and above the angels. A whisper of His shadow, a reflection of His glory. Seeking for perfection , the process to become a better person is a journey. Only if we push our boundaries and get out of our comfort zone can the REAL magic begins. What is happening IN me is more important than what is happening TO me.

Zig Ziglar once said and I paraphrase: when you keep doing the right things all the time even though you may not want to or like to , there will come a time when you can do the things you want to ,all the time. Thinking and reflection are no easy business. And I am constantly reminded by the great thinker Socrates, “The Unexamined Life is Not Worth Living”. Thinking for a change, says J C Maxwell in another book , in a world that seeks only the end results, is something not instinctive and intuitive, and needs effort and COURAGE … the process to the end is equally important to the destination if not more. When Steven Covey says to have the end in mind in one of his seven habits of effective people. . . I thought it seemed a little incomplete. . . If we add the process to the end to me that is complete…. Because if getting the results and achieving the goal and in the process sacrificing the soul (gaining the world but losing yourself and your loved ones) . . .  Is this worth it? are we created for this only?  Is that what we want?

Everything up to this moment is preparing me for my journey of a thousand miles which that single fateful step has been taken unknowingly, unwittingly, unyielding with Christ as he , the silent beacon stands at the seashore of my life. I express my hearfelt thank you to all the “Johns” around me who have shouted and pointed to me that “It is the Lord !” Alleluia  !

One thought on “Reflection on April 13 Reading John 21:7 ” It is the Lord”

  1. Thanks for bringing our faith perspective into the picture:
    I’m grateful to read your blog post and get reminded to constantly discern with The Holy Spirit’s guidance as we perise kindly ‘guidelines’ laid by self-help gurus..

    “When Steven Covey says to have the end in mind in one of his seven habits of effective people. . . I thought it seemed a little incomplete. . . If we add the process to the end to me that is complete…. Because if getting the results and achieving the goal and in the process sacrificing the soul (gaining the world but losing yourself and your loved ones) . . . Is this worth it? are we created for this only? Is that what we want?”

    It is often easy to blindly trust every self-help author; these people often have achieved and conquered dreams, a goal all we humans want~ for what is fulfilment if we live without fighting to attain our dreams?

    But what good is it for a man to gain the world but lose his soul?
    indeed.
    Thanks Michael!

Leave a Reply

