Death 死而复生

Aug 1: Colossians 2-20 Since you died with Christ to the elemental spiritual forces of this world, why, as though you still belonged to the world, do you submit to its rules
Aug 2: 1 Corinthians 15 -54 When the perishable has been clothed with the imperishable, and the mortal with immortality, then the saying that is written will come true: “Death has been swallowed up in victory.”
Aug 3: John 14 – 1 to 3 “Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.
Aug 4: John 11 – 26 and whoever lives by believing in me will never die. Do you believe this?”

Reflections:

It is when we face death that we can ask hard questions – have I lived well? Do I have any regrets? Can I let go of my loved ones?
God said we died with Christ, and so why are we submitting to the rules of this world? God says death is nothing to be afraid of, for death “has been swallowed up in victory”. And Jesus said “do not let your hearts be troubled”.

My father was hospitalized and I received a call from the doctor saying that his condition had turned critical and so he advised me to gather my mother and my siblings to be at the hospital. We were then asked the most morbid question -in the event of a heart failure, do we want the doctors to resuscitate my father, bearing in mind that he is old and frail, and resuscitation may hurt him more than do him good. We turned to our mother, who then said perhaps after 18 years of being sick, it was better to let him go than to let him suffer anymore.  It is not an easy decision. He is 75 years old.
My father miraculously survived the blood infection attack, and is now back to the normal ward. The episode makes me reflect upon my own relationship with my father. I had not prayed specifically for his recovery. In a way, I agreed with my mother to let him go – for there is no quality of life at all, but mere existence. I do not feel I have particularly suffered, though I have been caring for him. The thought that any future potential mate may scorn at the idea of me having a bed-ridden parent to look after did come to my mind, but it didn’t bother me much, for I believe that if the person really cannot accept my family, then neither can I accept such a person. However, I asked myself the hard questions – am I ready to let him go? If I have been compassionate towards others, can I not be more compassionate towards my own father? I mean, I don’t particularly feel sad, and I wonder why.
Still, I thank God that he is better now and I trust that God has His own timings for everything. The one thing I have learnt is God will not overwhelm us – He gives us enough information at any one time, so that we can digest and comprehend before getting more information from Him. That’s how we grow and mature in the faith.

In another separate episode, I experienced death too in another form. But the experience is good for God says “whoever lives by believing in me will never die” and I look forward to the rebirth. I know that God has better plans for me and that I should place my faith in Him and let Him do His business, while I focus on caring about mine. I thank God again for giving me this trial for me to learn and grow.

We do not need to wait till we are facing death squarely to ask hard questions. We can start by asking ourselves the hard questions, and live through everyday being His light and bringing Glory to Him in everything we do!

Leave a Reply

