No Eye, No Ear and No Heart 沟通出现误解

Aug 13: 1 Corinthians 2 – 9 But, as it is written, “What no eye has seen, nor ear heard, nor the human heart conceived, what God has prepared for those who love him”
Aug 14: Hebrews 2-14 Since, therefore, the children share flesh and blood, he himself likewise shared the same things, so that through death he might destroy the one who has the power of death, that is, the devil,
Aug 15: 2 Timothy 1-10 but it has now been revealed through the appearing of our Saviour Christ Jesus, who abolished death and brought life and immortality to light through the gospel.

Reflections:

I have friends and even my own sister who expressed shock over my decision to become a Catholic.

My pastor friend told me about what he had heard – that the Catholic Church practices “no salvation outside the church”, while my own sister asked me “Is the Catholic not about anti-Christ?” Yet others scorn at the Catholic Church for all its negative news – pilfering, sexual offences etc.
While the first responses stamp from wrong information, the second type of responses come from wrong perception.

Alas! How wrong is the information and how am I to dispute them? They love me and I know they are concerned. Yet, I know it is difficult for me to explain to my sister, to engage her in a debate on theology. As for my pastor friend, it will seem stupid to argue with him, an Anglican pastor who is twenty years my senior, and who has been doing bible study with me for the past 10 years!

My RCIA priest told me that there is really a Latin saying on “No Salvation outside the Church” but he went on to explain that our Catholic teachings say that all who do “good” will be saved. The argument is: who are we to say that someone living in the jungles and who has not the chance to hear the good news, be denied the way to the heavens, if he has done good?
As for my sister, I can only share with her that it is not true, and that we will still be siblings no matter what our religious views are; the bible teaches us to honour our father and mother and hence there is no need to worry about us splitting as siblings, when it comes to honouring our parents after they are gone.
And for those who have a skewed view of the catholic church, my only response is 谣言止于智者 – which loosely translated means  rumours / untruths will stop at the wise person. I can empathize with those who choose to focus on the negative, and be swayed by the perceptions. I can only pray that God works in them and show them the truth, just as it is written in 1 Cor Chapter 2 Verse 9.

But miscommunication remains a big issue between man. How easy it is for a couple who love each other to also hurt each other because of the wrong words! How easy it is to misinterpret one’s intentions! There is a friend who read one of my earlier posts and took it that I could not get over a certain person romantically; in fact, I was writing about God’s revelation to me and how I can get over it!

Miscommunication kills relationships. It stifles growth. It negates love.

And we can only turn to our God our Lord our Savior, who abolished death and brought life and immortality to light through the gospel! Amen!

Leave a Reply

