Attitudes of Our Minds 心灵的态度

Sep 13: 1 Peter 2:17 Show proper respect to everyone, love the family of believers, fear God, honor the emperor.
Sep 14: Proverbs 15:23 A person finds joy in giving an apt reply—and how good is a timely word!
Sep 15: Psalms 23:3 he refreshes my soul. He guides me along the right paths for his name’s sake.
Sep 16: 1 Timothy 3:13 Those who have served well gain an excellent standing and great assurance in their faith in Christ Jesus.
Sep 17: Romans 12:2 Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.
Sep 18: Ephesians 4:23 to be made new in the attitude of your minds
Sep 19: Proverbs 8:18 With me are riches and honor, enduring wealth and prosperity.
Sep 20: Nehemiah 5:15 The former governors who were before me laid heavy burdens on the people, and took food and wine from them, besides forty shekels of silver. Even their servants lorded it over the people. But I did not do so, because of the fear of God.

Reflections:

God says “to be made new in the attitude of your minds” and I ponder.

I ponder what has been made new, or rather, what will be made new, as I get baptized soon.

I ponder as I join the church and adopt a new family, what will happen to my existing family ties.

I ponder, if my soul will be refreshed, as he guides me along the right paths for his name’s sake.

And God says to me, that the journey with Him, is not a definite line drawn “before” and “after” baptism. He has called me to walk on this path more than 10 years ago, and He never forces me. He gently nudges, and there are often times I went astray, and yet, in His timing, He lets me wander off and come back to the path.

As I approach the baptism, there is a mix of excitement and fear.
Excitement because I will be made “holy” and I will become part of a greater family, the one, holy and universal church.
Fear, because the standards set up by Christ our Lord is so high, it’s almost impossible for a mere mortal like me to follow.

And then I remember the tax collector who pleaded with Jesus “be merciful to me, a sinner”.
I too am a sinner. I know God forgives sinner. I understand that God so love us first, and our only response is to love Him back, and by loving Him back, it means not to sin anymore, not to do things that will hurt our relationship with Him anymore.

But God! It is hard!
It is as if the devil is trying to take me away as I near the date of my baptism.

Take, for example, writing  this blog – I am now almost 2 months late. And I struggle. I struggle because on the one hand I want to make sure that I take no short-cuts, that I truly benefit from reflecting and writing these bible verses, and yet on the other hand, I worry that I am not keeping up.
And I suddenly realize that – I have played “judge”. I am judging myself harshly. And if I continue to do so, I will very soon fall into the all so common trap of trying to play “god”.

What are the attitudes of my mind?

I yearn for the assurance of our faith in Jesus Christ. I long for a timely word. I yearn for the renewing of my mind.
The journey is not coming to an end with my baptism. It is merely the end of a chapter.
I can’t do this alone, and I ask God not to abandon me, not to let the devil lead me astray anymore, and not to let me play my own judge.
I seek sincerely the restoration of the relationship with God, for reconciliation.
My God and my Lord, be with me now and forever, renewing and checking the attitudes of my mind! Amen!

2 thoughts on “Attitudes of Our Minds 心灵的态度

  1. My prayer after my Baptism and now remains the same: Late have I loved YOU, Lord!
    Our life on earth is but a pilgrimage and conversion is life long. . . . When you accept the Light of the World through Baptism, and thereafter to Confirmation, the Eucharist, Reconciliation etc., you will no longer walk in darkness. May God bless you with perseverance!

  2. Praise God for your mind of deep and keen awareness. And thank you for sharing that there isn’t a blacl and white before/after baptism but rather an entire life’s journey where His work has always been around even before we were conceived.
    Your words of sharing are encouraging even as you reveal your struggles of late. It so keenly reminds me of how I step away instead of leaning closer to Christ in my weaknesses.
    May God’s gift of Fortitude continue to keep us on this faith journey~ so that in all circumstances may we never fail to cry out “Let me never lose my faith Oh Lord!”

Leave a Reply

