The beauty of silence

Job 40:4-5

My words have been frivolous. What can I reply? I have better lay my finger on my lips. I have spoken once. . .  I will not speak again; more than once. . .  I will add nothing.

Job 42: 6

I retract all I have said, and in dust and ashes I repent.

I found time, with the grace of God, to read several chapters of the Book of Job during my recent retreat. It was connected to the theme of silence and when I read it, I thought to myself: The wisdom of God! What have mere creatures to say when God Almighty is in total control? The few chapters from 40 onwards really made me stand in awe of our God of power and might. The creation, the beauty, the sense of the eternal and the fragility of life, together with the minuteness of human beings, mere dust and ashes, all put me  in my place. I too thought to myself: Dare I ever open my big mouth to complain? Dare I grumble? Dare I even speak since God hears even the smallest whisper and the deepest sigh?

There is a hymn that goes:

I stand, I stand in awe of You, I stand, I stand in awe of You, Holy God to whom all praise is due, I stand in awe of You. . . . You are beautiful beyond description, too marvellous for words, too wonderful for comprehension like nothing ever seen or heard. Who can grasp your infinite wisdom? Who can fathom the depths of your  love? You are beautiful beyond description, majesty enthroned above. . . .

Leave a Reply

