Love Casts Out Fear 爱会驱走惧怕

Sept 25: Psalms 147:3 He heals the brokenhearted, and binds up their wounds.
Sept 26: 1 John 4:18 There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear; for fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not reached perfection in love.
Sept 27: Romans 15:1 We who are strong ought to put up with the failings of the weak, and not to please ourselves.

Reflections:

“He heals the broken-hearted, and binds up their wounds”

Wow! It seems like God planned it all – for a full circle to come back to this verse. I remember in December 2012, based on a friend’s recommendation, I booked a flight to Chiang Mai and visited Seven Fountains, without even knowing what a “silent retreat” is. The first ones that struck me on the first day I was there are from Proverbs: 3:8 If you do, it will be like good medicine, healing your wounds and easing your pains. (Good News Translation). Yes, I was there to heal wounds and ease pains, and that was exactly what I received in my three short days at Seven Fountains.

It’s almost been a year, and I know I have come a full circle. God is making me realize that without Him, I wouldn’t have made it this far. And hence the words from Psalm 147:3 strikes me and reminds me of Proverbs 3: 5 to 7 – 5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart. Never rely on what you think you know. 6 Remember the Lord in everything you do, and he will show you the right way. 7 Never let yourself think that you are wiser than you are; simply obey the Lord and refuse to do wrong.

Yes. Trust in the Lord. And God is Love. Therefore, we must trust Love.

For Love casts out Fear. For “Whoever fears has not reached perfection in Love”.

Indeed, it is fear that causes wounds and pains.

Fear that we will lose the person we so deeply attached to – someone whom we may have hypnotized ourselves into believing is someone we “love” – but in actual fact, it is someone whom we fear losing.

We very often confuse “love” as pleasing or as wanting the other person to do things our way. Whereas  “love” is, in fact, about giving. It is about being “willing to lay down your life”. And if that is the case, what is there to fear? I mean, if I am ready to die to give my life for the person I love, as in Jesus’s love for us, or as in a mother’s love for a child – what is there to fear? There will be no wounds. No pains. Because a parent will gladly let the child grow up and leave. Because Jesus doesn’t need us, He is patient enough to even allow us to stray, before going back to him.

Love heals wounds and pains.

I thank God for teaching me how to love. And I pray to our Lord Jesus Christ to teach me to be patient, not get angry easily, to always remember that Love is about Giving, to have no attachment nor wants for myself from others, that we ultimately love the way He has taught us to love. Amen!

One thought on “Love Casts Out Fear 爱会驱走惧怕

  1. Wow, you have indeed come a long way. . . it is a joy to see you grow in faith. The Big Day is drawing near and I will you a spiritual bouquet. May God be praised!

Leave a Reply

