An eye for an eye : Sight: Insight, hindsight and foresight

It seems like it was only yesterday that I have started wearing glasses. For 12 years I had perfect eye sight and then when I started my journey in secondary school, I entered the ranks of millions enslaved  to this contraption that compensates for the premature curvature of our eye balls which can no longer reflect the images back to the brain through the optic sensor clearly. So for the next 30 years, this contraption has extended my vision, permitted me to appreciate the beauty of God’s creation, assisted me to make new friends and immersed me in new experiences all of which will be challenging without it. With it I saw my beloved spouse whom God has entrusted to me, witnessed the birth of my first child, experienced the ultimate forgiveness of sins and savoured the True Presence of God.

Recently my vision deteriorated a little; the images become blur and get worse at night even with my glasses on. Worse still, two weeks ago, I developed an eye infection that I thought it was a precursor to something more sinister. My mum has glaucoma and my dad is diabetic, so I am technically in a high risk group. For a fraction of a second, I entertained that thought, but Praise God, I saw a video of the tele-evangelist Joel Osteen about hope and guarding your thoughts.

In Proverbs 4:23-27: “Keep thy heart with all diligence; for out of it are the issues of life. Put away from thee a forward mouth, and perverse lips put far from thee. Let thine eyes look right on, and let thine eyelids look straight before thee. Ponder the path of thy feet, and let all thy ways be established. Turn not to the right hand nor to the left: remove thy foot from evil.”

I have to focus and trust God and I am getting more and more certain that He knows best and He is putting me where I am best needed based on my energy, potential, talents and life circumstances for now to do His Will. This small infection could be likened to the thorn in the flesh for St Paul to remind him and to remind me not to be proud and forget the Lord and how we need to rely on Him always. This is a small inconvenience compared to two recent larger events that happened in my life.

The first was a local event; I had an opportunity to lead a group of students to experience the “Dialogue in the Dark” , a museum in a local campus operated by the visually impaired where one experiences an hour of total darkness. In this one hour we learned to appreciate the challenges and resilience of these visually impaired individuals who are able to cross a road, buy food and even take a boat ride.

The second event, more global, was the heart-breaking and eye popping hurricane HaiYan in the Philippines where tens of thousands are feared dead and millions are displaced, and all are threatened with starvation and health diseases. When put into perspective my bout of infection is really embarrassingly insignificant compared to these two events.

My eye sight was temporary affected but God is always good and He has used this experience and the recent events to give me NEW sight. He has given me insight into what a visually impaired person faces, hindsight that I should have taken more care of my eyes and foresight to realise that I need to trust in Him ever more. I need to have foresight to await the things that He is going to provide instead of resting solely on my own efforts

“The longer you have to wait for something, the more you will appreciate it when it finally arrives. The harder you have to fight for something, the more priceless it will become once you achieve it. And the more pain you have to endure on your journey, the sweeter the arrival at your destination. All good things are worth waiting for and worth fighting for.” – Susan Gale.

And to add on, the more I trust in the Lord, the more graces and abundance He is going to surprise me with because we cannot outdo his generosity or love. All things are possible through God and in this context, an eye for an eye. My sight was temporarily affected but in return, I have gained insight, hindsight and foresight. With the new sight, I am confident He will bring me to see new lands, to hear new sounds, to taste new wine, to enjoy new experiences, to explore new career paths, to enjoy new freedom, to seek out new partnerships and friends and most importantly to live a new life in God to the fullest. Praise God!

Leave a Reply

