Things I had, but….; The World Today

When I was young, I had strength but I did not see it. I had a family and  friends who cared for me and time to spend with them but I did not know it. I had love, care from everyone, smiling always to make my days happy and to give me good advice, but I did not feel it. I had God’s favour with the power to ‘move mountains’,  but I did not acknowledge and grasp it. Only a decade would have to pass before I realized I had all of these.

And now, in the time I almost become of age, I understand better all of these feelings , and I consent to them.  Love, Care, Happiness, Acknowledgement from those who care about me and favour from God. LOVE, Loyalty, Faithfulness – once so disposable are the fuels that drive me forward. For my Family: my parents, my brother, my other relatives; my friends: all who care for me—– RCIY Church Friends, several School Friends and my brothers and sisters in Christ in our community in the  Church of the Holy Spirit and for the vast and wonderful world which God has given to us. God gives us  life and keeps us faithful to spread the Good News.

I have known all these. I have the light but sometimes I choose to go to the Dark. Even though I have been baptized and fully confirmed, I fall  into darkness regularly. I have God, but I choose the powers of Satan to topple my enemies. Is it my upbringing? My physical weaknesses of eczema and allergies that  weaken my spiritual strength or is it that I’m playing too much of violent games or getting too much of bad influences outside? I do not know. God does.

As a child, I liked and respected the Ancient Romans as I saw the type of armour they were wearing in the Children’s Bible my parents had bought. I respected them though they were the ones who killed Jesus.I am similar to the Ancient Romans—- power-hungry, full  of  hatred  and wrath. Like them, I take advantage of my enemies and stab them in the back when the fruit is ripe. Back then, the Romans waged war in favour of Mars(Greek Olympian Equality: Ares), the God of War. However now that pagans have been proven as non-existent, historians then discovered that the Romans fought many battles for their own good to benefit themselves. Even Constantine the Great, my patron saint, waged civil wars against his rivals, Maxentius and Licinius, and  though it granted Christians safety, he did it for his own good, to become the sole Roman Emperor.

I have many people who advise me but none was the same as what I  had today from one of my closest friends: my fellow RCIY Sponsor: Joshua Jeremiah. His advice was for me to stop playing violent video games such as Assassin’s Creed and Grand Theft Auto, to control my game playing hours and not  to fall into game addiction. To be truthful, I had no idea whether it was actually him saying that from his heart or the presence of the Holy Spirit inside of him who was the One who told me that. God works in mysterious ways. It has really baffled me.

Truly,  though we do not see Jesus on earth, we know that  most of the people voted for him to be killed. Jesus really does exist and we will see him only after completing this harsh long journey on this once peaceful paradise, now a pathetic place. Here,  every faithful person wants to help others including  cowards like me to live the best of my life on this world, trying not to put my nose into anything that has trouble even if a person needs help. 

This World is not the same as it was in the olden days, the Golden days of Yore. It has become  an industrialised first class city as if Earth was a city itself on another planet bigger than ours. However in that great city of  Earthlings,  people have gone weak. We can see ‘homos’ out in the streets of the world and soon in Singapore, everyone seems to copy them. There are more people who are not going to church anymore, (two of them you would know are from my family [see my past articles] Even I myself was tempted to leave by ‘ taking a break’ from my regular Saturday RCIY sessions to rest.

We have to remain faithful. For example, we might be the last generation to pray the rosary. This will happen if we do not pass on the teaching to our children and to our grandchildren and so on. Even if I would do this, one person can only do so much. All other families need to do the same and not be tempted to give up.

So my friends, it is our job to teach and to prevent anymore of us from falling into temptation. Let us bring the stragglers, our blind sheep, back to Almighty God. We will not forsake them, the devil be damned. You shall not win,Satan, for God will bestow powers upon his faithful servants, powers to protect ourselves and our loved ones.

Strengthen the presence of the Holy Spirit in each of us. Father, your servant has spoken, grant thy gifts to us. You are forever victorious over Satan.

Our Father who art in Heaven, Hallowed be thy name. Thy Kingdom come, thy will be done on Earth as it is in Heaven. Give us this day our Daily Bread and forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us and lead us not into temptation but deliver us from Evil. Amen.

Mother Mary, pray and intercede for us: Hail Mary, full of Grace, the Lord is with thee, blessed are thou amongst women and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus. Holy Mary, mother of God, pray for us sinners now and at the hour of our Death, Amen.

Holy Spirit, strengthen and nourish us: Glory be to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit, as it was in the beginning, is now and ever shall be, world without end, Amen.

One thought on “Things I had, but….; The World Today

  1. Unity is strength, and this is true. Lone rangers never make it. They become easy prey. The community of believers is important in one’s faith journey. Agree?

Leave a Reply

