The Joys of being a Pet Owner

Last night, I attended a dog party which was organized by my uncle’s volunteers and friends.  My uncle, Mr Raymund Wee’s work involves the taking in abused and abandoned animals. He is the founder of  Noah’s Ark Natural Animal Sanctuary (NANAS) and I help with the writing of animal rescue stories for the blog. I have a deep-found respect for my uncle for giving up so much for his passion of helping the voiceless and being their voice.

Attending a party for animals was a first for me as being an animal lover and volunteer, I had not heard of a party for animals before or had the opportunity of attending one. Nevertheless, I still went and I am glad that I went as I met many dogs and their owners. The dogs were definitely more active then us. They even had their own cake, as these days pets get to enjoy too.

The session proved to be a great stress reliever as I could interact with the dogs and spend time with them. Being a pet owner is a life-time of commitment towards your pet and teaches you to love and be responsible for them. Pets have their own quirks and I am surprised that most dogs last night were rescue cases. This meant that they were either abandoned or abused by their owners. However, they were lucky to find owners who gave them a second chance.

Pets also grow attached to their owners as they have feelings too. They are God’s creation and God left them in our care when he created the world. Therefore it is our duty to be their guardians. The joys of being a pet owner are many as the animals give their love unconditionally and do not grumble about life, their food. They just want to spend time with their owners and be loved.

Sometimes I think about animals who do not have owners to care for them or a warm home to call their own. Many strays in Singapore live a dangerous and harsh life in the streets and are left to fend on their own. I hope that people are more tolerant and compassionate by showing a little kindness to these strays. If they can open their hearts to adopt instead of buying or being a temporary fosterer, more strays would be able to find someone who will truly care for them till they pass on.

“Not to hurt our humble brethren (the animals) is our first duty to them, but to stop there is not enough. We have a higher mission–to be of service to them whenever they require it… If you have men who will exclude any of God’s creatures from the shelter of compassion and pity, you will have men who will deal likewise with their fellow men.” —Saint Francis of Assisi

God Bless!

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

One thought on “The Joys of being a Pet Owner

Leave a Reply

