From the Mirror to the Core

I live in front of the mirror where I make up myself. My looks, achievements, my made up self. The image reflected is the ideal I want to be. The image reflected is the who I want others to see.

I live in front of the mirror where I measure myself. Constantly asking, “Am I good enough?”. Constantly finding I’m not good enough. Wanting affirmation to feel good enough.

I know, that God accepts us wholly as we are. I know, that God loves us wholly flaws and all. I know, but I have not internalized this. I know, but I have not accepted this for me.

I know, it is not about building up, this image in the mirror. But of tearing it down, to my inner core. I know, it is not about deserving it, this love of God. But of receiving what is freely given, evermore.

I want to imagine the Father looking at me. I want to imagine the Father loving just me. He says, “I accept you and love you as you are”. He says, “I take delight in you, just as you are”.

I want to live outside the mirror and be myself. I want to live outside the mirror and really see myself. The image reflected is the image of God. The image reflected is loved by our Lord.

Leave a Reply

