Death: The Inevitable End

No one would say this, after the Death of a loved one or a good friend, especially by tragic means. No one would say,   ” Behold, the Glory of God!” I heard this phrase before in a homily by Father Jude David. I never thought that I or any of those that I’m acquainted with would meet this kind of situation.

On Monday, 5th May 2014, one of my good secondary school friends, Tien Kang Fang, met a tragic road accident at Sin Ming Avenue in the wee hours of the morning. He was rushed to the hospital and given a four-hour operation. He was then admitted to the ICU (Intensive Care Unit) and then visited by his family. He was then declared brain dead by the doctors on Tuesday. And people began sending their last messages to him on Face Book although most of them will be paying last respects to him during the three-day wake from Thursday 8 May 2014 till Saturday 10 May 2014.

Kang Fang was the good person that everyone would aspire to be, especially for us Catholics. He was caring, very friendly, helpful, polite and filial. If he was one of us, I would assume that he would have almost no problem following the doctrines as he was like the embodiment of good, as pure as an Angel. They say only the good and holy die young,  and I am very sure and I would like to think that this was the case. St Maria Goretti died young at age 11, my friend died at age 18; and they were both young.

Kang Fang: Why him of all people? I asked the Lord. A person who was so  saintly.  Lord, why? I grieve not just for myself and my friends but especially for his family. A good person, taken away too early. I have yet to pay back my debts to him before he passed away. When I heard the news, the post from his cousin on my facebook news feed, I could not believe my eyes. Kang Fang, my friend, brain-dead. I didn’t think before that  anyone I know would meet such a tragedy. I was reluctant to believe it and I prayed to the Lord for a miracle recovery but now, he is in the place I desire to be. He is with the Lord now and forever and ever.

Kang Fang: When we were in secondary school, I was bullied often, but you were there to bring me up when I fell down, too many  times. . .  countless times.

This I regret, not seeing him and my other friends ever since I graduated from secondary school. Now he might be gone, but never forgotten. He will still be there in our hearts. He would be a living saint. That is what drives me – to aspire to be like him, to be as pure as him, to be a living saint as I am called to be.

Though it pains me to write about a late friend, I feel that as Catholics, we really should be ready when death comes to us. We never know when we are going home to the Lord. But at least for me, it would be a release for my soul, to finally go to paradise. But still,  I know that my loved ones will miss me as much as I would miss them. That is why (Thank You Josephine!) Prayer at all times, Morning, Afternoon, Evening, Night are important. To confess all our sins to the Lord because we never know when we will leave this world to the next.

But we know Revelation 14:13 And I heard a voice from heaven saying, “Write this: Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord from now on.” “Blessed indeed,” says the Spirit, “that they may rest from their labours, for their deeds follow them!”Indeed this what awaits us in heaven. Philippians 1:21-23 For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain. If I am to live in the flesh, that means fruitful labour for me. Yet which I shall choose I cannot tell. I am hard pressed between the two. My desire is to depart and be with Christ, for that is far better.
I can’t wait to go there (Heaven) as the Lord requires us to carry our everyday crosses like how he carried his cross to Golgotha before he was crucified. Of course we won’t be carrying the cross alone, like when Simon of Cyrene helped Jesus carry the cross, we have the entire church right behind us.

Kang Fang: you have been a good friend to us all and your tragic death really saddens us all. We all miss you. Family, Friends, Teachers… Go, my friend to the place where your soul will find rest.

Lord, have mercy on Kang Fang. Forgive him for his sins even though I am very sure he didn’t commit many sins as Lord,he was a good friend, a loyal son and a good student. He was the type of person that you would likely want your children to be, Lord. Blessed are the meek, for they shall possess the land. Let your perpetual light shine upon him. Through your mercy he shall receive peace. Lord, also give your peace to those who mourn his death, including me. O Lord, we need the grace to be at peace and continue with our Lives. Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted. Amen.

Dear Readers, please pray for Kang Fang and his family. Let us all pray that God’s perpetual light shine upon him. Pray for his soul,  that he will find a better place to spend in rather than in this world. He shall be missed however but never forgotten. Brothers and Sisters, also pray for the second victim and her family and also do pray for the driver that he would be given a lighter sentence. Though the driver might have taken my friend’s life but our Lord teaches us to forgive and love our enemies. Let God be the final judge, and he is our judge as he is our Creator, Our Father, our King, our Saviour, Our Redeemer, our Messiah, our Friend.

Lord, I leave Kang Fang in your hands, O Lord. May he enjoy his eternal life. Look after him, Lord. And then one day, when it is time for me to pass from this world to the next in the many years of my life to come, then I would see you and I will see him too and join him in the never-ending feast in paradise.

3 thoughts on “Death: The Inevitable End

  1. Thank you for sharing. It is indeed necessary to reflect on the last four things – death, judgement, heaven and hell. St Dominic Savio died at age 15.

    1. Thank you. Dear readers, please continue to pray for Kang Fang and his family and pray for my friends that will grieve and miss him more than me. Blessed are those

      1. Sorry for the incomplete message, I still have problems using the mobile version of WordPress. Like I said, pls pray for kang fang and his family and the friends who were more closer to him than me and are still grieving. Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted. Pls continue to pray for our writing ministry or rather group but I guess ministry would do fine as we write to bring the love of god and be salt to the world. Let us pray that the holy spirit be strong in us that we continue to write more good articles and let us pray also that more will join us for the blog. Let us do God’s will on this Earth as it is in Heaven.

Leave a Reply

