Off on a holiday with the Lord!

Yeah, yeah, yeah. .  . Remember the Beatles? If you are young, you may not. But I grew up with their music and the lyrics of many songs continue to remain fresh in my mind. My class mates and I used to tell ourselves that if we could remember the stuff taught us in school as well as we remember the lyrics of pop songs, that would be really good. . .  for us, that is. Unfortunately it does not work that way, and today I know that it takes effort to be diligent. It takes effort to do one’s assignments and hand in one’s best work. Strange,  but I really had a fairly easy time during my school days. For one, I did not have anyone hounding me to do my work. The other thing is, of course, now that I am thinking about this matter, I could have done better. I could have excelled. But there was no push, and so there was not much of a drive either. Still, I made it, and I am thankful.

Talking about this reminds me of the vacation that I am embarking on this day. It takes planning, for sure. I did not waste too much time signing up simply because I had already planned to go on a holiday and when the opportunity arrived, I simply grabbed it. Of course, I sought permission from the ones with whom I serve in the Lord’s vineyard, and other preparations  I had to make included doing my work ahead of time.

Now I can go peacefully, and I know it is going to be a great holiday. I have sought the grace to make it a meaningful and prayerful one. One of the things I decided this time is to gather all the prayer intentions of loved ones, friends and co-workers and simply bring them in my heart. I will not hold them for long. At each sacred place,  I shall place them with hope and confidence in the loving arms of our Blessed Mother. She will take them to her Son, our Lord, and with her kind words – they have no wine – we will be well provided for!

This weekend the Church here will be celebrating not only Good Shepherd Sunday but also Mothers’ Day. How many mothers would like to offer their sons and daughters to our Lord? It struck me this morning, as I was reading Zenit, that many parents do not see that as a beautiful gift. Generally we hear it said that they would not mind other parents to offer their children to the Lord, but . . . . please don’t take mine!

Listen to what St Ignatius of Loyola has to say, and linger for a while. May the Lord bless us with understanding and wisdom. There is only one Master and we serve Him alone, and He is our Lord Jesus Christ. Amen.

“Few souls understand what God would accomplish in them if they were to abandon themselves unreservedly to Him and if they were to allow His grace to mould them accordingly.”

– St. Ignatius of Loyola

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

