End of a cycle, a new one arises

“Farewell, my brave hobbits. My work is now finished! Here at last, on the shores of the sea, comes to the end of our fellowship. I would not say do not weep, for not all tears are of evil. ” —— Gandalf the White, Lord of the Rings, The Return of the King

Lord of the Rings…… One of my favorite movies/ books since childhood. J.R.R. Tolkien is one of my favorite authors after all. He was a person blessed by God to write the wonderful stories of fellowship and in the beginning of the story: Pain, Suffering and Pursuit by enemies, the forces of the Dark Lord Sauron, like how in actual life we are always tormented by Satan. And finally in the ending of the story, to the Fellowship of the Ring finally comes peace, fulfillment and unity after Middle-Earth is at peace, with Sauron finally gone. Tolkien was a Catholic like us and he was really devout in his faith. And like me and my fellow writers, he had the gift of writing and used it to glorify the Lord and made the Story of Middle-Earth. His story along with another of my favourite movie Star Wars basically taught me about right and wrong when I was young.

What I want to write about today is not all about movies but about my RCIY Journey of 2013-2014 and how it relates to the sypnosis of Lord of the Rings. The fellowship is technically equal to my RCIY group. A group of friends who set out together to learn or, in the case of both stories, to defeat a common enemy: In LOTR was Sauron, in actual life: Satan. I’m not going to focus too much on the movie as I’m sure almost everyone would be familiar, considering its popularity. Through this Journey, my fellow sponsors and I, already baptized in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit, help and free those whom the Lord has called for his own from the evil grasp of Satan and we did so with the rebirth of our neophytes. With the renewal of baptismal rites, we once again vowed to reject Satan and his empty promises.

This batch of RCIY (2013 to 2014) was really unique compared to other batches including mine. No matter how old you are –  13,15,17,18, 21 – all of us are able to talk to each other. We enjoyed times together. Our bond of friendship is so strong and tight that even Satan himself cannot breach it. Look at the final battle of Middle Earth, the Battle of the Black Gate or the Battle of the Morannon which marked the final defeat of Sauron. The Host of the West led by Aragorn II Elessar, though outnumbered,  managed to buy time to finally destroy the One Ring. You can see, in the beginning of the story, Gondor was the one holding the shield for the whole middle-earth while the rest continued with their lives. It was until the critical point of the War of the Ring, after Rohan defeated Isengard at the Battle of Helm’s Deep and the Invasion of Gondor by Mordor when the people of Middle-Earth finally united against the common foe and defeated him. In real life, look at how strong you are when you are with at least someone or a group who keeps each other in check of their faith. With unity like that, you can see the true potential strength of the people of God

Now our battle with Satan is finished, for now. How I wait for the day when St Michael and the angels of heaven will finally defeat Satan once and for all. Though this skirmish is over, the people whom the Lord has called have joined us in brotherhood in our church. Soon, here we go to the frontline again  to save more souls from Satan. I am Jesus’ loyal soldier and servant and I shall serve God and God alone all the days of my life. May He grant  me the grace!

 

Leave a Reply

