God & Me

When I begin to daydream, I see myself. I make a reflection of my personal life. What choices have I made?  Many of them  have been wrong but also many also are correct. I am not a perfect person. I am a sinner in need of saving and I have been saved.

Daydream….? Mine would be better called a time of pondering. Thinking of the what ifs and what might have been (if I had done things more correctly). Have I lived my life righteously? Have I lived a life God wants it to be? Or have I sinned against him, dethroned him in my very heart? 

I need his grace. In many ways, I have been a witness to Christ, such as writing these articles on the ManyWriters Blog about God’s goodness, singing in his honour at weekly Sunday Mass, and being a teacher to those the Lord has called as his own as a RCIA sponsor. In many ways as well, I sin against him and I commit sins in areas such as my laziness (sloth), gluttony, anger and pride.

Where am I in my life? What I have done since my first breath, my childhood. . . and and the present time? Have I lived my life with good deeds and works, honoring of the Lord and being worthy of his grace?

 I would usually confess. “ I have failed you, I have failed God. I have sinned against you and your teachings. I have sinned against the Kingdom of God. I am not worthy of your grace and the gift of Eternal Life.”

But with God, nothing is impossible. Everything is possible. “ Go and sin no more.” And I hear God say in my heart, “ Take heart, my son, for I am with you. I am your shepherd, I am your God. I love you and you are mine.”

Command me, Lord! Melt me, mold me, fill me, use me. Spirit of the Living God, fall afresh on me. Say but the Word and my soul shall be healed. Amen.

Leave a Reply

