Charger and Connect

Today I lost my phone charger.  Well it is no big deal about losing things but this is an apparatus that will charge my connection to the world. The physical world via the gadget called a mobile phone. I am a sentimental person. This charger is about 4 years old and I am really  fond of it.  I did not upgrade the charger as  I kept faithfully to the older version of the phone series of this particular brand. (Readers will know what brand this phone belongs to)  I know, I know it is just a small white charger……Yet it is terribly annoying that I cannot find it.  I am very sure I left it somewhere in the house but my house is not a palace or a mansion or an ancient castle with hundreds of rooms or with attics or dungeons.  Where is the charger?  Can you please come out??  I was in a terribly foul mood all day and the family noted that from being amused initially to one of concern lately. Calm down and continue with my life…..Eventually I decided to write…

So what did I learn from this… hmmm. . . . sadly initially nothing except lots of anger and guilt and sadness … then as I penned this reflection on this incident I realised I was really fussing over something terribly insignificant and what the heck.. it is just a charger and not something more important like losing my sanity (oops, almost did), my health, my  job, my relationships or my faith (God forbid !!) .  Well a lot people lose all of those things in some time of their lives on this earth to some varying degrees. Praise God, I still have all of those mentioned above.  But well as I reflected (and I must thank one of my dear friends from church who has always asked me to reflect by writing) .. . yes I need to calm down and see the perspectives in life.. That is why the front view of the car is larger than the rear mirror of the car. It is to let you see MORE of what is in front of you and LESS of what is behind you. Be STILL and know I am GOD !

Another reflection that can be related to the charger is that what charger are we actually using?  Why use an electrical charger to charge an apparatus that connects us only to our earthly friends?  Why don’t we use our spiritual charger to charge our spirit and connect us to our heavenly Father ! I  recalled someone once said we need to connect and recharge our lives to the Lord so that we can draw from His power, His grace, His energy.  We are nothing without Christ. We are nothing compared to the awesome Creator. Lastly,  I trust that through the patronage of St Anthony, patron of lost stuff (if I remember correctly), that pesky charger will turn up somewhere in my “palatial” HDB house somewhere soon. Meanwhile I definitely need to change my charger and charge myself to God more often than I charge my phone…

