The Gift

We were all asked

To choose a Gift.

Many chose the Gift of Tongues.

But 1 Corinthians 12:31 encouraged us to seek higher gifts

So I humbly asked for the Gift of Love.

Lo and behold! 

As what scripture said,

“Ask and you shall be given”.

With this Gift 

I’ve experienced tolerance at the work place

especially with people from different backgrounds

Different levels of competencies and efficiencies.

To receive this Gift

I found myself becoming more patient

Especially with those who are slow.

Yet in this process

I became more aware of those less fortunate than me

And I noticed myself being transformed

And my heart changed.

Instead of being indifferent

I take steps to be kind to the elderly

and to be more compassionate to those suffering.

Yet, with the Gift of Love comes pain

In loving, I find myself vulnerable to being hurt

And even rejected by those whom I love.

It’s even more painful when the hurts and rejection come from those closest.

It is in loving that I realise that I am weak

And I need God’s grace to forgive

To let go of my hurts

So that I can love again.

Oh! But happiness is also when love is returned

In the form of a hug or an embrace

In affirmation and in action.

Happiness is also knowing that your child has come a long way

and made a turn around towards home and making it good.

So be careful what you ask

For the scripture says

“Ask, and you shall receive.”

 

