How can I ever forget?

I remember . . . Yes I do

That date so very important – Saturday 10 April 1993

How can I forget?

A whole life of sin washed away

Out, damned spot, as Shakespeare’s ‘Macbeth’ put it

I remember . . . Yes I do

That terribly significant moment, never to be repeated

That day when upon me an indelible mark was made

When I no longer lived but Christ lives in me

Yes, I remember indeed

The waters of Baptism washed me clean, clean, clean!

And through the night, unable to sleep, overjoyed

I heard the angels singing, singing, singing!

Be exalted O God above the heavens . . .May thy glory be over all the earth . . . Be exalted O God above the heavens . . .May thy glory be over all the earth . . . Be exalted O God above the heavens . . .May thy glory be over all the earth

Ah yes, the angels were rejoicing in heaven

 A sinner had repented and come home to the Lord!

I remember . . . Yes I do

The few days that followed my entry into the family of God

The joy and the peace, the New Life in a new creation

Then the Lord God came and summoned the first  convert

 In the family  to enjoy eternal rest in heaven

My mom went home to the Lord on

16 April 1993,  Friday in the octave of Easter

And I shed not a tear, no . . . not a single tear

She had gone Home and forever will she be joyful in the Lord

So how can I ever forget?

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “How can I ever forget?

      1. Jo. I just realized we have yet to have this celebration yet. have we? ;p
        hahahaha blessed schedules we have! Will message you to arrange a time 🙂 Although belated, it’s still celebrated within God’s time !

Leave a Reply

