Chosen to be His

But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light. (1 Peter 2:9)

There is so much uncertainty in accepting the call of God, but that is exactly what makes it the faith adventure.  The great news is the realisation that our Lord did not appear in my life only upon my Baptism on 10 April 1993. He has always been there and he has loved me with an everlasting love! I have been his from the moment he fearfully and wonderfully brought me into existence. Yes, this is so that I may come to know him, love him and serve him all the days of my life.  The Lord called me under circumstances that were both urgent and challenging. In the most unexpected way, I had to make a choice and the decision had to be quick. My mother was the first one to respond and she went home to her eternal rest on 16 April 1993. Suffice to say, I had a lot of learning and growing to do; it seemed like I was an infant who had to learn to take solid food before time.

One key point is to have trust in the Lord, and the grace to let him direct and lead. I may not understand. I may not even see anything as rational but I am called to obey. That is the way of the little, and that is the challenge for the poor in spirit.

So, a key factor of walking by faith is having the ability to trust God. But we cannot do this if we remain chained by fear, because fear negates our ability to trust Him. When we are afraid, we cannot fully trust. When we cannot fully trust, we cannot walk in faith. May I continue with my faith journey trusting in the goodness of our Lord God. Praise God!

When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. (Psalm 56:3)

 

Leave a Reply

