Salvation First, Conversion Second

I managed to pass through last week’s exams and assignments for which I am grateful through the prayers and support of family and friends. Though I did not do as well, I passed, which is what I wanted and I am thankful to Jesus for nothing is possible without him.

Today’s gospel speaks to us about Jesus’ temple and how he made a whip out of cords to drive them out of the temple and overturned the money-changers in the temple. Jesus angrily says, “Take these out of here and stop making my Father’s house a marketplace.”( John 2:13-25). Often, we are distracted from the noises in our lives and end up not hearing Jesus. This has made Jesus both sad and angry that we are not following the righteous path  he has shown us. Therefore, we need to make use of opportunities to reconnect with him through the Eucharist and other church-related activities.

Also the concept of Jesus showing us the right way can be defined through the ten commandments ,and  today’s reading of him making the sanctuary whole again by driving out all that is bad. Jesus invites us to rid ourselves of all that is weighing us down – our concerns, our struggles and failures through prayer and reflection. He presents us first with salvation and then with conversion which will lead us to accept him as our one true Saviour and Redeemer.

Jesus understands us so well that he knows everyone of us. He knows our human nature, yet he chooses to give us the one true salvation which is himself by saying that through his death and resurrection, he will make everything whole in three days. I realised that through praise and worship there is always healing of self and Jesus shows unto us his compassion and mercy.

At times, I feel that I am not worthy to face Jesus as every decision that I make everyday brings about another set of consequences and problems which accumulate. This is an aspect that I struggle with which leads me close to burnout. I have been feeling very drained out and tired due to all these things that I carry from my failures. The inability to do the right thing, and to meet the rising expectations have left me feeling very burdened. However, through praise and worship, I feel God’s grace and music takes me to another place where I can connect with Jesus.

I came across the beautiful Psalm 37 when I was flipping through the bible, and it spoke to me directly about my ups and downs in life this week. It has allowed me to be open to Jesus, dwell on his name and cling on to the cross. I must let go of my anger to seek peace and joy which will lead to the goal of freedom.

Also it pains me when organisations are fighting among themselves even though it is a common goal that they are working towards together. It is disappointing to know that we are unable to deflate our pride and ego to let bygones be bygones.

“Do not get heated about the wicked or envy those who do wrong.

Quick as the grass they wither, fading like the green of the fields.

Put your trust in Yahweh and do right, make your home in the land and live secure.

Make Yahweh your joy and he will give you your heart’s desires.

Commit your destiny to Yahweh, be confident in him, and he will act,

making your uprightness clear as daylight, and the justice of your cause as the noon.

Stay quiet before Yahweh, wait longingly for him, do not get heated over someone who is making a fortune, succeeding by devious means.

Refrain from anger, leave rage aside, do not get heated — it can do no good;

for evil-doers will be annihilated, while those who hope in Yahweh shall have the land for their own.”

Pope Francis also had a special message for women on International Women’s Day;  he extended his warmest appreciation for the many women who in many ways are bearing witness to the Gospel and work in the church. He says, “Women transmit to us the ability to understand the world with different eyes , to understand things with hearts that are more creative, more patient, more tender.”

To end this reflection, I hope to be able to do away with anger and to be more tolerant towards others so that their feedback does not stay with me. Please continue to pray for me as I embark on the journey of self-discovery and restoration in improving myself as a person. God Bless!

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

One thought on “Salvation First, Conversion Second

  1. I do suppose you know, Darren, that saints are not made instantly. We just have to plod on and with the grace of God victory will be ours. To God be all praise and honour and glory and thanksgiving! Let us be united and pray for each other to persevere to the end, winning the crown of glory! Ah, St Paul and all the saints in heaven, pray for us all who are in this family of writers, and for all who follow this blog.

Leave a Reply

