World Communication Sunday: What is Truth?

Sometimes it can be so hard to tell the truth to people as it may not be something that the person likes to hear or it could seem like we are trying to make ourselves look good so we end up taking the other option which is to lie. Depending on the situation, we are forced to choose between truth or lie which are difficult decisions to make. Currently, society is all about transparency but does not make truth-telling alot easier also. The media can be manipulated which would influence people’s perception and influence about certain issues, but as journalists, I was told that it was ethical to always tell the truth as it is.

Yesterday’s gospel reading focuses on the voice of Jesus peaking to people through his teachings and the influence of the Holy Spirit. Jesus tells us that we should pray for those who do not believe his word that they might be safeguarded from the influence of the evil one. He says,” I do not ask that you take them out of the world but that you keep them from the evil one” (John 17:11-19). The evil one’s influence is everywhere, even in the media through explicit content; however, we have the choice of not following the path of the evil one. We can choose to hear the truth which is Jesus’s voice speaking to us.

Like many, I suffer from negativity; it is the thought that tries to push Jesus away in my mind and tells me to walk away from the truth. This negativity manifests itself in vicious thoughts that affect me such as making me doubt myself such as my capabilities and talents. It can be so hard at times to overcome negativity as it is contagious and it blinds people from the truth. The truth that by trusting Jesus, the bad might get worse, but it can get better over time. A lot of prayers and support are needed to overcome this negativity that it is akin to a stormy rain cloud always hanging around a person. Nonetheless, Jesus gives us consolation and optimism by saying,”Consecrate them in the truth. Your word is truth. As you sent me into the world. And I consecrate myself for them, so that they also may be consecrated in truth”(John 17:11-19).

The truth is to walk towards Jesus as he is both the way and the life. By acknowledging Jesus through the mass and prayers, we are able to find truth in the homily, the bible and the Eucharist which are signs of Jesus’s everlasting love for us, his children. Perhaps this negativity is an opportunity for me to grow as a person and whatever Jesus has planned for me, I have learned to accept these things that in life, nothing is permanent, it boils down to us doing our best and leaving the rest to Jesus.

We are all not perfect and I have learned not to be fearful of life’s trials and tribulations but to take them as learning moments. I have noticed that society has sadly eroded away, and often there are people who often curse, use foul language, back-stab and gossip; it does seem to make one blinded  from the truth. People only care for themselves but we can break down these communication barriers by showing goodness, and this is possible if we learn to forgive and try to fix the situation as best as we can. It is important to continue to trust in discovering Jesus everyday of our lives and to keep fighting for the truth.

Everyday I am fighting the negativity and actively seeking the truth by praying and reflection. Though it might be a struggle, I know that Jesus is with me to the end and he is with us always. Like a shepherd, he will always go all out to find that one lost sheep,therefore we can do the same by staying by his side to avoid temptation by the evil one which will cause us to sin.

This is a hymn called Because he Lives which gives us hope to live everyday, his promise that he loves us and that he is both our strength and courage.

“Because He lives, I can face tomorrow,
Because He lives, all fear is gone;
Because I know He holds the future,
And life is worth the living,
Just because He lives!

And then one day, I’ll cross the river,
I’ll fight life’s final war with pain;
And then, as death gives way to victory,
I’ll see the lights of glory and I’ll know He lives!

Because He lives, I can face tomorrow,
Because He lives, all fear is gone;
Because I know He holds the future,
And life is worth the living,
Just because He lives!”

May we continue to pray for one another and our families. God Bless!

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “World Communication Sunday: What is Truth?

  1. It seems to me that our faith will always be tested. It is not so much negativity as the fact that only when challenged, tested and overcome, will our faith be strengthened. After all, our faith does not come cheap. Ransomed by the Blood of the Lamb! Praise God!

Leave a Reply

