The Comforter

It should not surprise us that the Spirit of  God comforts us. God’s word is true and more and more I find great joy in meditating and praying with the Word. I try  to remain silent so I may also hear the Lord. I find this really very consoling. It amazes me no end that our Lord takes such a deep interest in each of us. So often we may think that we have great concern over someone. We pray. We rave and we rant. At the end of it all, we also know that we can really do little. We can do NOTHING, in fact. Why not then go to Jesus who beckons all the time?

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” (Mt 11:28)

A gentle invitation. It impresses upon me the humility of our God. Who are we that He should go out of His way to lead us to His bosom? And he consoles us as only He knows how. He allows us to know that we are truly children of God. The Spirit cries out Abba, Father. Praise God!

This aspect is so very obvious when I pray in tongues, and I do this daily. My own words are so inadequate. What happens is that I hear myself crying out in various ways to Abba Father. Daddy. Dada. Papa. Daddy, praise you! Daddy, thank you! It amazes me no end!

To be consoled is a wonderful experience that we all want to have and we need to do. Pentecost reminds us that true comfort comes from the Lord, rich in mercy. He comforts us in all our tribulations, so that we may comfort those who are in any affliction with love giving back the gift that the Father had given to us (2 Corinthians  1, 3). So at the Pentecost Rally, I did my utmost to soak in the entire spiritual experience. I spoke to people I met. There was even a non-Christian who was sitting next to me. I was surprised that she was a non-believer. She had come with her friends, and they were somewhere in the huge place. Amazing grace!

How many people were consoled? How many people received the gift of tongues? And how many will thank the Lord constantly for being so awesome. Praise the Lord!

Leave a Reply

