Going From Here To Somewhere with Jesus

After a short break, I came back to attempt the third prompt of the writing workshop which focuses on identifying one Area of your Life and answering these three questions: ” Where am I now?”, “Where do I want to be?” and “What will it take to get me from here to there?”

Spirituality is one area that I identified, and it is such a complex aspect, don’t you think? It can be hard to comprehend the meaning of spirituality as people might have a lukewarm outlook in viewing it. I am constantly learning everyday about how Jesus has touched my life and how I can bring this gift of love and compassion to others. It can be hard to belong in a community as people need to be there for each other. Sharing and reflection can help with faith building and formation of self to grow in spirituality. More often than not, friendship gets in the way of spirituality and it becomes superficial spirituality where everyone just wants to hear about the good moments and not have to entertain the notion of problems and issues which might come from other people.

It will take prayers, the grace of God and alot of effort to introduce a greater realistic spirituality within the community. It is to cultivate a sense of belonging and formation that everyone is treasured and always loved by the community. On my part, it will take prayers and communication to journey towards the goal of letting everyone experience Jesus in one way or another. May the Holy Spirit continue to guide us in increasing our faith and love for people. I believe that where there is a will, there will be a way!

The last prompt and conclusion to the workshop would be from springboards and I chose the sentence of What do I really want? I really want freedom, the feeling of just sitting down and watching the beautiful sunrise and feeling the morning breeze on my skin. The freedom away from people’s expectations,school, commitments,examinations and stress. Like St Francis of Assisi, I want to be with nature,wildlife and animals and to care for them with a great sense of compassion and respect. It is also the freedom away from a society that wants so much from you.

By caring for God’s creation, it gives me a sense of freedom and the ability to see boundless life, to see their eyes light up when help or assistance is rendered them is fulfillment for me. Perhaps, this is God’s way of telling me that it is in his simple creation that I can experience both happiness and peace. Therefore, I am hoping that one day, I can find this freedom and God’s creation which can be freed and loved by many as this gives me great satisfaction.

“Blessed is the servant who loves his brother as much when he is sick and useless as when he is well and and be of service to him. And blessed is he who loves his brother as well when he is afar off as when he is by his side, and who would say nothing behind his back he might not, in love, say before his face.”
– St Francis of Assisi

God Bless! and as we take on this new-found gift that Jesus has shown us through the workshop that by writing something everyday, our words can give consolation to our own self and advice to others. I truly say again that I enjoyed the writing experience. It is different from the last one and it was nice to see so many people turning up just to write.

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

Leave a Reply

