Questions asked with Faith, Hope, Love, Courage and Humility lead and direct us towards goals

Questions can help us clarify our intentions

We often face many questions in our lives. These questions come from many people and places. We could face questions asked by others or we could also raise questions to others, yet even within our very selves there are questions that we seek answers for. Answers that lead us to deeper awareness of the Lord and of our fellow brothers and sisters.

We will get a variety of mixed responses for any question we ask: Yes, No, Maybe, Not Sure, Not Yet, Wait, Not Interested, Ok, Alright, Agreed, Disagree, etc……

Interestingly enough if we think about it, not all questions that are asked are answered directly because there is a deeper answer that we are seeking which leads us to other questions, and these help us deepen our knowledge and understanding of what exactly we are looking for and to come to a greater awareness of our own intentions and motivations which are usually mixed.

‘What Do You Want?’ 

John 1:38-39 “Jesus turned round, saw them following and said, ‘What do you want?’ They answered, ‘Rabbi’ — which means Teacher — ‘where do you live?’ He replied, ‘Come and see’; so they went and saw where he lived, and stayed with him that day. It was about the tenth hour.”

To seek You O Lord Jesus Christ and Your Will for us in our lives, we often do not ask You direct questions at the beginning, as You show us dear Lord that we need to spend time with You first, to discover who You are and Your love for us through our relationship with You and Your Church. Then we learn who we are – your beloved disciples and brothers and sisters and the children of Your Father God Almighty. Lord please grant us Your love and grace and lead us by the Holy Spirit to be transformed into intentional disciples of You.

‘What Do You Want Me To Do For You?’

Mark 10:51-52 “Then Jesus spoke, ‘What do you want me to do for you?’ The blind man said to him, ‘Rabbuni, let me see again.’ Jesus said to him, ‘Go; your faith has saved you.’ And at once his sight returned and he followed him along the road.” 

Lord Jesus Christ and Abba Father God and Holy Spirit, You love us and freely grant us Your love and grace. You heal us of our every wound and affliction that affects our minds, bodies and souls. The first thing You desire of us is to accept Your love and grace, to trust in You, and to love You, to have the courage and faith to speak up, to ask to be healed, so that we can see with eyes of Faith once again and follow You on the journey of Christian Discipleship.

Asking with Humility and Faith

Luke 5:12-13 “Now it happened that Jesus was in one of the towns when suddenly a man appeared, covered with a skin-disease. Seeing Jesus he fell on his face and implored him saying, ‘Sir, if you are willing you can cleanse me.’ He stretched out his hand, and touched him saying, ‘I am willing. Be cleansed.’ At once the skin-disease left him.” 

Dear Lord Jesus Christ, through Your generous love You teach us and reveal to us the great love and mercy of God the Father and the activity of the Holy Spirit. You have taught us that You love us and will heal us of our faults and iniquities beyond cultural norms and stigmas. For You offer healing to us when we turn to You and seek You for help, for You desire for us to live with You and for You, which will bring us the greatest peace and joy that the world cannot give, for we are made by You and for You O God.

Matthew 14:34-36 “Having made the crossing, they came to land at Gennesaret. When the local people recognised him they spread the news through the whole neighbourhood and took all that were sick to him, begging him just to let them touch the fringe of his cloak. And all those who touched it were saved.” 

Lord help us to have the humility and courage to ask You for help and healing. Help us to acknowledge who You are, that You are the Lord and our Friend, the Master and King, the One who came to save us and love us and set us free from sin and death, yet You are our Brother and Good Shepherd. Help us O Lord to share with others our stories of Faith and also listen to them share their stories of Faith, that we may be edified and strengthened as Your family and Your Church, that we may all share in the joy of the Gospel as we evangelise, so that we will truly be communities of Faith, sharing in living relationships with You.

When we have questions we should take time to turn to the Lord

Matthew 7:7 “Ask, and it will be given to you; search, and you will find; knock, and the door will be opened to you.”

Dear brothers and sisters, let us seek the Lord with the questions that are deep within us, those questions that lead us to a purpose, a direction, a need, a desire, and let us also be willing to respond to the Lord. We will get to the end that the Lord wants us to get to, which is ultimately to be with Him, where we all first began also. For the Lord, with the Lord and in the Lord, that is the ultimate answer of all the questions of the mind and the affections of the heart and the desires of the soul.

St. Augustine of Hippo says that our souls are restless till they rest in God, which is captured in a contemporary Praise and Worship Song titled Restless written by Audrey Assad.

Restless – Audrey Assad

You dwell in the songs that we are singing
Rising to the Heavens, rising to Your heart, Your heart
Our praises filling up the spaces
In between and frailty and everything You are
You are the keeper of my heart

And I’m restless, I’m restless
‘Til I rest in You, ’til I rest in You
I’m restless, I’m restless
‘Til I rest in You, ’til I rest in You
Oh God, I wanna rest in You

Oh, speak now for my soul is listening
Say that You have saved me, whisper in the dark
‘Cause I know You’re more than my salvation
Without You I am hopeless, tell me who You are
You are the keeper of my heart
You are the keeper of my heart

And I’m restless, I’m restless
‘Til I rest in You, ’til I rest in You
I’m restless, I’m restless
‘Til I rest in You, ’til I rest in You
I wanna rest in You

Still my heart hold me close
Let me hear a still small voice
Let it grow, let it rise
Into a shout, into a cry

Still my heart hold me close
Let me hear a still small voice
Let it grow, let it rise
Into a shout, into a cry

And I’m restless, I’m restless
‘Til I rest in You, let me rest in You
I’m restless, so restless
‘Til I rest in You, ’til I rest in You
Oh God, I will rest in You

