The Creation of New and Modern Miracles

 

I am unprepared and afraid of the coming week as I write this post as there are a lot of uncertainty and expectations on my mind, as assignments and communal work come into play. This means lesser rest time and more crunch time as I try to do my best and keep trusting in Jesus that he will get me through the week like he always does. Perhaps, I am looking for a miracle? But I know that life is indeed a miracle to be able to live each day because our heart keeps pumping and that keeps us going.

In this week’s gospel, the focus was on the multiplication of the five barley loaves and two fish to feed the crowd and it speaks of God’s providence to his people. The focal point of the gospel was the boy who readily gave Jesus and his disciples all the food that he had to share with the people. He was not selfish or greedy, and he just wanted to give everything he had to others.

This spirit of giving is the willingness to acknowledge that everyone is special and has gifts that they can offer to others. Many times, we feel that we are unworthy and that  compared to others, our gifts are too small to be noticed. I struggle to acknowledge my own gifts as I feel that they are ordinary as compared to the things other people are doing. Next, like the boy, we are called to share our gifts with others around us and  to know that every gift is beautiful.

I would unreservedly share my gifts with others as  I dislike the feeling of seeing people down and out. My parents also thought me to be compassionate and to empathize with others which is the main reason why I try to help people to the best of my ability and I will put in 100% or even more effort to go the extra mile. Sometimes, I forget about myself but it is worth it as it creates small new miracles in their lives which is the greatest reward one could ask for.

Also, we are called to co-operate with others in doing God’s work and also to allow God to work through us as his instruments in creating new and modern miracles. The reason why God may not want to continue to work miracles even till today could be that it would cheapen the meaning of our beliefs/ Perhaps he wants to guide people which has greater meaning and satisfaction.

I myself have experienced a number of miracles and I am grateful for each one of them as it is not by my effort but through friendships, family and Jesus. In the second reading, we read: “I, a prisoner of the Lord, urge you to live in a manner worthy of the call you have received, with all the humility and gentleness, with patience, bearing with one another through love, striving to preserve unity of the spirit through the bond of peace” (Ephesians 4:1-6). It is the calling to just give and love selflessly without reservation as it helps to unite people and bring peace as one community, one church and one faith.

The miracle of the five loaves and two fishes gives me strength to brave through this week. The  journey is difficult and filled with uncertainty, but through God’s providence, I shall find that he answers and gives generously and abundantly. No gift of ours is too insignificant or small for Jesus, and he will take our talents and multiply them so that we are able to reach out to people in showing them the right way.

As I prepare myself for the community camp in this busy week, there is this praise and worship song called “Heart of Worship” by Matt Redman and I like the piano cover version done by Sarah Reeves as it is a more toned down and heartfelt cover of the song. The words that I have highlighted in bold keeps repeating at the back of my mind that Jesus is always there and my life is all about him.

When the music fades
All is stripped away
And I simply come
Longing just to bring
Something that’s of worth
That will bless your heart

I’ll bring you more than a song
For a song in itself
Is not what you have required
You search much deeper within
Through the way things appear
You’re looking into my heart

Chorus
I’m coming back to the heart of worship
And it’s all about you
It’s all about you, Jesus
I’m sorry Lord for the things I’ve made it
When it’s all about you
It’s all about you, Jesus

King of endless worth
No one could express
How much you deserve

Though I’m weak and poor
All I have is yours
Every single breath”

In the weeks counting down to National Day, we remember to keep both Pope Francis and our Archbishop William’s intentions in our prayers. “That volunteers may give themselves generously to the service of the needy. That setting aside our very selves we may learn to be neighbors to those who find themselves on the margins of human life and society.” “For wisdom to guide our leaders in public so they can work for the unity,peace and stability of our nation.”

May we continue to be of service to others with unreserved love and compassion in bringing joy into their hearts and lives. God Bless!

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

 

Leave a Reply

