The Solemnity of The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary: Ave Maria!

I am so happy and grateful that the examinations are finally over, and I am able to enjoy the short holidays that I have before heading back for another new semester. In a way, today’s Assumption of Our Lady draws many similarities to the journey of life. All journeys have a beginning and an end, and the highs and lows of each point brings us closer to our destination which is eternal life with Jesus. Like Mary, who was always so trusting and faithful to the teachings of God that she answered the call of God to bear Jesus. Like a loving mother, she followed Jesus her Son from birth to the cross, still believing and praying through the good and bad times.

The gospel shows Mother Mary setting out to visit her cousin Elizabeth who was with child and upon hearing Mary’s greeting, the infant leaped in her womb and Elizabeth, filled with the Holy Spirit cried out in a loud voice and said,”Blessed are you among women and blessed is the fruit of your womb” (Luke 1:39-56). I feel that when prayer devotions and intercessions to our Lady are answered, people do feel the same joy; our Lady is interceding for us always.

Replying to Elizabeth, Mary said: “My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord; my spirit rejoices in God my Savior for he has looked with favor on his lowly servant. From this day all generations will call me blessed; the Almighty has done great things for me and holy is his Name. He has mercy on those that fear him in every generation. He has shown the strength of his arm, has scattered the proud in their conceit. He has cast down the mighty from their thrones, and has lifted up the lowly. He has filled the hungry with good things and the rich he has sent away empty. He has come to the help of his servant Israel for her remembered his promise of mercy, the promise of our fathers, to Abraham and his children forever (Luke 1:39-56).” 

This shows the selfless giving of our Lady to the call of God in responding to his call with a firm “Yes Lord”. We must have the courage and love like our Lady to help those that are in need and in doing so, help us to find the presence of God.

I have heard this short story of devotion to Mary that I would like to share. At Novena Church, many Catholics would come in to the main church where there is a framed icon of our blessed mother and  they would write and pray. I would always go there with either my dad and mum to pray when we pass by the church as it was open throughout the day. Many Catholics have had their prayer intentions answered by our blessed mother. The aspect that struck me the most were the non-Catholics coming in to pray to our Lady and from what I have heard, when asked what moved them to want to pray, they said, ” I am a non-Catholic but I am able to connect with our Lady because she is a mother to everyone.”

Truly, she is the star of the new evangelisation and she reaches out to every person, like a loving mother who cares for all creation. Also, I feel that the closest occupation to Mother Mary would be housewives as they sacrifice alot for the family in terms of doing everything in the household, both day in and day out. They might complain but they still carry out their duties without fail and one such person that I know would be my own mother. She has been caring for me since I was young and saying Yes to be a full time stay at home mother which is a huge sacrifice in caring for me and the family. It is in the giving of self that we find Jesus and  my mother is everything to me as she has seen me grown from a  baby to the  young adult that I am today. I am grateful for her sacrifice and love; she has taught and shown  me  to keep walking the path of righteousness.

Even though Mother Mary’s earthly journey has ended, ours have not and saying Yes to Jesus and asking Mother Mary to intercede for us will help us begin our journey united with God at Baptism and returning home when our journey is done, and being united with God in his loving embrace. Pray for us O Holy Mother of God; that we maybe made worthy of the promises of Christ, Amen!

As I end off this post, may we dedicate this hymn”Ave Maria” to our blessed Mother, and may we be always reminding ourselves that she is our mother , even as we remember to thank God for our own mothers. Praise God!

“As I kneel before you,
As I bow my head in prayer,
Take this day, make it yours
and fill me with your love.

Ave Maria,
Gratia Plena,
Dominus Tecum,
Benedicta Tu.

All I have I give you,
Every dream and wish are yours,
Mother of Christ,
Mother of mine, present them to my Lord.”

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

