20th Sep 2015_(2)_ what were you arguing about?

To truly repent from sins is to be a peacemaker

Mark 9:33 – 37 “They came to Capernaum, and when he got into the house he asked them, ‘What were you arguing about on the road?’ They said nothing, because on the road they had been arguing which of them was the greatest. So he sat down, called the Twelve to him and said, ‘If anyone wants to be first, he must make himself last of all and servant of all.’ He then took a little child whom he set among them and embraced, and he said to them, ‘Anyone who welcomes a little child such as this in my name, welcomes me; and anyone who welcomes me, welcomes not me but the one who sent me.’”

Dear Lord Jesus Christ, You invite me to be part of Your kingdom, and You remind me often to be a peacemaker, and not to be selfish, but to care for the poor, the marginalised, the weak, the young and the elderly. You teach me in the passage of St. Mark’s Gospel about welcoming those who are considered small in the eyes of the world.

Lord Jesus, You also remind me in the letter from St. James that infighting, division and disunity in families, ministries, communities, parishes, workplaces, classrooms and nations all result from the bitterness and infighting within hearts wounded by sin.

James 4:1 – 3 “Where do these wars and battles between yourselves first start? Is it not precisely in the desires fighting inside your own selves? You want something and you lack it; so you kill. You have an ambition that you cannot satisfy; so you fight to get your way by force. It is because you do not pray that you do not receive; when you do pray and do not receive, it is because you prayed wrongly, wanting to indulge your passions.”

Lord Jesus, I am sorry for the times I have been a cause of disunity and division, due to fear and envy, anger and hatred, unforgiveness and prejudice. I gave in to the sin of pride. Lord Jesus, please help me be a faithful disciple to You, and fill me with Your Holy Spirit to be a faithful brother to Your brethren and a child of God Your Father. Lord, I desire to heed Your invitation to follow You and to repent from the darkness of my sins, as You say in the Gospel of St. John,

John 8:12 “When Jesus spoke to the people again, he said: I am the light of the world; anyone who follows me will not be walking in the dark, but will have the light of life.”

Lord Jesus, You are the light that leads all humanity to Your Father, God the Father, and You want us to share in Your glory as You remind me in the second letter of St. Paul to the Thessalonians,

2 Thessalonians 2:14 “Through our gospel he called you to this so that you should claim as your own the glory of our Lord Jesus Christ.”

Lord Jesus, and You want me to share in Your peace by telling me through the letter of St.  James that,

James 3:18 “The peace sown by peacemakers brings a harvest of justice.”

Lord Jesus, I come before You just as I am, a sinner, in need of Your grace and mercy, unworthy to be a child of God the Father, yet You call me to still be Your beloved brother and a beloved child of God Your Father.

Thank You Lord Jesus. And thank You Lord for not withholding Your Holy Spirit from me, and for letting me be part of Your One Holy Catholic and Apostolic Church.  Lord help me to remain faithful to You in the Sacraments especially the Eucharistic celebration and Reconciliation and devotion in prayer and reading the Bible, and in every area of my life.

Lord I pray for peace and unity of all Christians throughout the world, for the leaders in the Church and the governments of all the Countries throughout the world, for the poor and marginalised and the dying, for those who are migrants and refugees, for those who suffer from wars and disasters, for the widows and orphans, for broken families, for those who are suffering from sickness and especially terminal illnesses, for peace in the world, for all who are most in need of Your grace and mercy, for all souls in purgatory.

Dear Mother Mary, all the Saints and Angels of God, please pray for us. Amen.

Heavenly Father, I offer up to You the prayer Your Son Jesus Christ taught us:

Our Father who art in heaven, hallowed be Thy Name, Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven, give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us, and lead us not into temptation but deliver us from evil. Amen.

