23rd Sep 2015 Blessed be God who lives for ever

Blessed be God who lives for ever, for his reign endures throughout all ages

Tobit 13:1 – 5 “And he said: Blessed be God who lives for ever, for his reign endures throughout all ages! For he both punishes and pardons; he sends people down to the depths of the underworld and draws them up from utter Destruction; no one can escape his hand. Declare his praise before the nations, you who are the children of Israel! For if he has scattered you among them, there too he has shown you his greatness. Extol him before all the living; he is our Lord and he is our God; he is our Father, and he is God for ever and ever. Though he punishes you for your iniquities, he will take pity on you all; he will gather you from every nation wherever you have been scattered.”

Dear Lord Jesus Christ, You see in me a wounded sinner, in need of Your love and grace, to be assured that God the Father and You are with me, and that Your Holy Spirit is with me sanctifying and purifying me. Lord, You also remind me that I’m Your friend and brother and disciple. Lord Jesus, You remind me that in the book of Tobit, it is important to remember that the Father loves us and will punish sin; yet He saves us if we repent and live our Faith because He is merciful. I thank You Lord Jesus and Heavenly Father for Your great love and mercy upon the Church throughout the world, Lord, help us to remember that proclaiming the Gospel is our first and foremost mission to draw others to You, that they too may experience Your love and grace which brings wholeness, repentance, healing and peace.

Lord Jesus, You remind me in the following passage taken from the book of Ezra that at times the people of God may not be the most enthusiastic in carrying out Your will, yet You are faithful and the Father is faithful, for You still care for us, as Your cared for the Jewish nation during the time of exile and even till today. Lord, forgive us for our loss of enthusiasm.

Ezra 9:5 – 9 “At the evening sacrifice I came out of my stupor and, falling on my knees in my torn clothes and cloak, stretched out my hands to Yahweh my God, and said: ‘My God, I am ashamed, I blush to lift my face to you, my God. For our iniquities have increased, until they are higher than our heads, and our guilt has risen as high as heaven. From the days of our ancestors until now we have been deeply guilty and, because of our iniquities, we, our kings and our priests, have been handed over to the kings of other countries, to the sword, to captivity, to pillage, to shame, as is the case today. And now, for a brief moment, the favour of Yahweh our God has allowed a remnant of us to escape and given us a stable home in his holy place, so that our God can raise our spirits and revive us a little in our slavery. For we are slaves; but God has not forgotten us in our slavery; he has extended his faithful love to us even under the kings of Persia and revived us to rebuild the Temple of our God, restore its ruins and provide us with a refuge in Judah and in Jerusalem.”

Lord Jesus, I often find that I’m shy and easily upset and irritated on some days. I need Your help and grace; perhaps I admit that I find the whole Church, both home and family, in prayer and in heart. However, I’m at times a bit aloof as I’ve been since young.  Lord Jesus, Heavenly Father and Holy Spirit, this is one issue which bugs me often. Somehow I find that I don’t share many similar interests with people. I have a very very keen interest in the Bible and the Sacraments and Liturgy of the Hours. My musical interests revolve mainly around hymns and praise and worship songs, and I have keen interests in history and current affairs, but I don’t follow any sport nor can I play any sport or know the rules of any sport. Sometimes I wonder why most people enjoy a sport, when the only exercises I used to enjoy a lot and spent many hours on in the past were just push-ups, sit-ups and swimming. Lord Jesus, You remind me that it matters not about personal interests if we, the members of the Church, all remember to look at You, instead of looking at each other in ministries and the parishes and even at Diocesan level. Only then can we as Your disciples support each other and love each other, because we remember that You are our Head and we Your body. Lord Jesus Christ, in the letter of St. Paul to the Colossians, Your Holy Spirit reminds me of the importance to always praise You to the glory of the Father and to let Your Word find a home with me.

Colossians 3:16 – 17 “Let the Word of Christ, in all its richness, find a home with you. Teach each other, and advise each other, in all wisdom. With gratitude in your hearts sing psalms and hymns and inspired songs to God; and whatever you say or do, let it be in the name of the Lord Jesus, in thanksgiving to God the Father through him.”

I must admit Lord Jesus, that the going is tough, yet I remember You telling me from the onset, as written in the Gospel of St. Mark,

Mark 1:15 “ ‘The time is fulfilled, and the kingdom of God is close at hand. Repent, and believe the gospel.’”

Lord Jesus Christ, help me to believe more fully and deeply the Gospel and to deepen my trust in You. Lord Jesus, You invite me to consider the joy of preaching the Gospel, which will also have its share of hardship to go along, as in the following passage from the Gospel of St. Luke pertaining to the earliest missions You gave to Your Apostles, the first Priests and Bishops of the Church.

Luke 9:1 – 6 “He called the Twelve together and gave them power and authority over all devils and to cure diseases, and he sent them out to proclaim the kingdom of God and to heal. He said to them, ‘Take nothing for the journey: neither staff, nor haversack, nor bread, nor money; and do not have a spare tunic. Whatever house you enter, stay there; and when you leave let your departure be from there. As for those who do not welcome you, when you leave their town shake the dust from your feet as evidence against them.’ So they set out and went from village to village proclaiming the good news and healing everywhere.”

Dear Lord Jesus Christ, I must thank You and God the Father and Holy Spirit for the gift of Your Bishops, Priests, Deacons and the Religious, as well as all families and communities and ministries in the Church. Lord, please bless us so that we may love each other and live in unity, the way You want us to live. Lord, please also bless the whole of humanity and bring all souls in purgatory back home with You. Dear Mother Mary and all the Saints and Angels of God, please pray for us.

Abba Father, God, we offer You the prayer Your Son Jesus Christ taught us,

Our Father who art in heaven, hallowed be Thy name, Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done on earth as it is heaven, give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us, and lead us not into temptation but deliver us from evil. Amen.

One thought on “23rd Sep 2015 Blessed be God who lives for ever

  1. We praise God for our unique personalities! We praise God that we are loved just the way we are! We praise God who knows us through and through and for that, we need not mind our differences from others!
    Be yourself! This is your personal vocation, isn’t it?

Comments are closed.