In One Common Priesthood with Christ

Another week gone, and I am grateful to be still in one piece as I am looking forward to the end of the year when I can unwind after a long and grueling semester. This week’s readings focuses on the joys and responsibilities of the ministerial and the common priesthood of us lay people.

In light of the recent City Harvest Church saga, the highlight falls on the leaders of the Church. For me, the leaders are to be of service without personal gain to God and his people, and they should not abuse the trust of the people but lead the community on the path of righteousness in humility and service.

The gospel shows Jesus as the figure-head and his saving grace to the blind man who had great faith and believed in Jesus. When the blind man heard Jesus approaching, he implored the mercy of Jesus by saying,“Jesus, son of David,have pity on me. And many rebuked him, telling him to be silent. But he kept calling out all the more,”Son of David,have pity on me”(Mark 10:46-52).

Jesus was moved by the special act of faith that the blind man displayed and Jesus granted him his wish of restoring his sight. Jesus told him,“Go your way; your faith has saved you. Immediately he received his sight and followed him on the way” (Mark 10:46-52). The blind man became Jesus’ disciple by following him in spreading the good news which is the mission of the Catholic Church.

Like the blind man, we should not forget about the common priesthood that God has called us to, and that is,  to know that through our faith, we can move the people around us too. Likewise, as the priest in church ministers to us, we are called to minister to the people in the secular world too. St Peter says,“But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim his excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvellous light.” 

It is true that being a priest or a figure-head of a church or religious organisation is not fraught with temptations but in speaking with them and assisting them at mass, we remind them that their role entails alot of sacrifices and prayer. Pope Emeritus Benedict said,“The function of the clergy is essential and irreplaceable in announcing the Word and celebrating the Sacraments, especially the Eucharist. … For this reason it is vital to ask the Lord to send workers for His harvest; and it is necessary that priests express joy in their faithfulness to their identity.”

“Also he indicated that St. John Mary Vianney “continues even now to be a model for priests, especially in living a life of celibacy as a requirement for the total giving of self, expressed through that pastoral charity which Vatican Council II presents as the unifying centre of a priest’s being and actions.” 

Therefore, as we continue to pray for our priests,let us share in the common priesthood with Jesus in carrying out acts of faith and compassion in our daily lives and live by the word of God.

I would like to end this post with a song by Lifehouse titled “Everything“, that everyone including priests need Jesus so as to not be led astray. God Bless!

“Find me here, speak to me
I want to feel You, I need to hear You
You are the light that’s leading me
To the place where I find peace again

You are the strength that keeps me walking
You are the hope that keeps me trusting
You are the light to my soul
You are my purpose, You’re everything

How can I stand here with You and not be moved by You?
Would You tell me, how could it be any better than this?

You calm the storms, and You give me rest
You hold me in Your hands, You won’t let me fall
You steal my heart, and You take my breath away
Would You take me in, take me deeper now

‘Cause You’re all I want, You’re all I need
You’re everything, everything
You’re all I want, You’re all I need
You’re everything, everything”

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

 

Leave a Reply

