Life is changed, not ended

Who will roll the stone away?
Such a question fills my mind
As I hasten to the tomb
Where my Lord’s body lies


Who will roll away the stone?
I am but a woman frail
I have not the strength or the means
It will be a task too hard for me


Who will roll the stone away?
The question continues to ring in my mind
Until before the tomb I stand
And in amazement and wonder I behold


The stone has been rolled away!
Who has done it, I wonder
I am not bold enough to enter
Hurriedly I return to Peter and John
To tell them of what I have seen
The men come and then they leave
Do they believe what they have seen?


The stone has been rolled away!
My Lord’s body is here no more
Where is He?
Who has taken His body away?


Tears roll down my cheeks
My heart is wrenched with grief
Then a Man in the garden I see
He comes and He says to me
Why do you look for the living here?
Don’t you know I am He?


Joy fills my heart completely
Now I hear His familiar voice
My name alone He calls out loud
In a tone to which I have grown accustomed
And at once I fly to Him
But He tells me to cling not
For to the Father and God He must first return
And that at Galilee He will also be
So I am to tell His chosen ones


Who will roll the stone away?
Such a question need be asked no more
The stone has been rolled away!
And my Lord has risen from the dead
He is alive, alive, alive!


Triumphant King, you reign victorious
Having conquered sin and death
Having fulfilled the Father’s will
All praise to You, Lord Jesus Christ!

May the souls of the faithful departed, through the mercy of God, rest in peace. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

