Paid in troubles

Oh my Lord! How true it is that whoever works for you is paid in troubles! And what a precious price to those who love you if we understand its value. – St Teresa of Avila

Paid in troubles

I should know how true this is

yet it is also the reason

we are given chances to grow in our faith

to be renewed

to be challenged

to be strengthened

so as to be better

humbler

gentler

kinder

all that helps us to bear fruit that will last

be thankful

be grateful

yes, the value of such pain I have come to appreciate

and the best way I learn is to look at the Master Himself

He is sinless while I am sinful

He has no sin and I am a sinner

Yet, did He not suffer grievously?

Did He have it any easier?

No, not at all

and so pondering on His life

Helps me to accept better all that threatens

to weigh me down

sometimes

sometimes

thank God it is only

sometimes

and so along I continue to persevere

to sing His praises

to plod on and on and on

not so different from a little donkey

faithful to its duty doing only my share of duties

Come next year 2016

it will be two decades of growing in the faith

of nurturing the garden of love

of keeping intact the Treasure within

the Priceless Pearl so worthwhile, so worthwhile

Praise God! Thank God!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

