The Hour

Hope, O my soul, hope. You know neither the day nor the hour. Watch carefully, for everything passes quickly, even though your impatience makes doubtful what is certain, and turns a very short time into a long one. – Saint Teresa of Avila

A meditation on death

That was what caught my attention

In a book I had bought

The Imitation of Christ

And someone told me today

Of her husband who died

In the night

All of a sudden

Totally unexpected

Heart failure

Cardiac arrest

Call it what you  will

He left his widow three weeks ago

So it was with deep sympathy

Empathy and attention

That I listened

And in  my  heart

As she spoke and related

How it had all happened

I started to pray  

For a soul summoned

To be judged

By our God

Whom we know to be

Slow to anger

Rich in mercy

The  point is

You know neither the day nor the hour.

Watch carefully, for everything passes quickly

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

