The Clay and the Potter

I am the clay, you are the potter

Mould me Lord, I surrender myself to you

Even though I am imperfect, help me to walk a little closer to you

For I am formless clay, waiting to take shape

Into something purposeful, useful, helpful

To be motivated, to live and to keep living

To be used by you to be an instrument of your work

Helpful to others so they can know and serve you

A loving and compassionate God

A God asking me to let go of everything that is holding me back from knowing you better

Your love is sufficient for me

Thank you for moulding me when my loved ones and I needed you the most

Moulding me to be strong in times of anguish and death

To know that death is not an end as clay, so formless

Can be moulded by your hands into something tangible for others

It is all in a day’s work

Every clay moulded one at a time by the potter

The potter who loves and patiently shapes us

Us, his beloved creation!

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

Leave a Reply

