15th December 2015 Every ending brings a new beginning

Ecclesiastes 3:1 – 8 “There is a season for everything, a time for every occupation under heaven: A time for giving birth, a time for dying; a time for planting, a time for uprooting what has been planted. A time for killing, a time for healing; a time for knocking down, a time for building. A time for tears, a time for laughter; a time for mourning, a time for dancing. A time for throwing stones away, a time for gathering them; a time for embracing, a time to refrain from embracing. A time for searching, a time for losing; a time for keeping, a time for discarding. A time for tearing, a time for sewing; a time for keeping silent, a time for speaking. A time for loving, a time for hating; a time for war, a time for peace.”

Acts 20:35 “By every means I have shown you that we must exert ourselves in this way to support the weak, remembering the words of the Lord Jesus, who himself said, “There is more happiness in giving than in receiving.” ‘”

Philippians 4:12 – 13 “I know how to live modestly, and I know how to live luxuriously too: in every way now I have mastered the secret of all conditions: full stomach and empty stomach, plenty and poverty. There is nothing I cannot do in the One who strengthens me.”

Matthew 6:33 – 34 “Set your hearts on his kingdom first, and on God’s saving justice, and all these other things will be given you as well. So do not worry about tomorrow: tomorrow will take care of itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.’”

Today marks the end of my career with KPMG Singapore as an Auditor. I am grateful to God the Father, and the Lord Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit, for the wonderful 2 years 3 months and 2 weeks that I have been in the Audit profession. I am grateful for the wonderful colleagues and supervisors and clients that I have met during the past few weeks. There were good times and tough times, as with everything, just like handling the alternating shifts during my stint with the Singapore Police Force.

It is with greater joy, however, that I am going forward to another step towards moving into the Seminary to begin formation. I look forward to spending time with the Community of Brothers that Jesus Christ has called me to be a part of so that we can serve the greater Community of the Archdiocese of Singapore. I also look forward to visiting my second home Diocese, the Archdiocese of Brisbane, in the near future, which some of the Priests who are my future Formatters have mentioned that it will be good for me to do so; and I wish to thank them for their continued prayers and support, and truly some of them are still in contact with me. I find that throughout my life when I have to part with others be they relatives, friends, acquaintances, I feel a bit of a sadness which is temporary, and the joy that comes from knowing that God loves me and only God can ensure we all meet in eternity gives me the strength to overcome separation anxiety and the fears of loss.

To God be the glory, dear brethren, united in prayers with you throughout the kingdom of God, Blessed Advent. To the brethren throughout the world living among the nations in the many Dioceses and Parishes, peace be with you, and may the Lord bless you abundantly.

2 thoughts on “15th December 2015 Every ending brings a new beginning

  1. To feel sadness at the thought of parting is simply to be human, and thank God you do have feelings. But the joy of serving our Lord will surpass all and truly, we will meet in heaven when our work is done! Let us persevere with joy and may the grace of God to grow closer to Him be with you always!

Leave a Reply

