20th December 2015 O come, now Key of David, come. Come Lord Jesus!

Isaiah 22:22 “I shall place the key of David’s palace on his shoulder; when he opens, no one will close, when he closes, no one will open.”

Revelation 3:7 “’Write to the angel of the church in Philadelphia and say, “Here is the message of the holy and true one who has the key of David, so that when he opens, no one will close, and when he closes, no one will open”

Psalm 109(110):1 “Yahweh declared to my Lord, ‘Take your seat at my right hand, till I have made your enemies your footstool.’”

Matthew 22:42 – 45 “’What is your opinion about the Christ? Whose son is he?’ They told him, ‘David’s.’ He said to them, ‘Then how is it that David, moved by the Spirit, calls him Lord, where he says: The Lord declared to my Lord, take your seat at my right hand, till I have made your enemies your footstool? ‘If David calls him Lord, how then can he be his son?’”

2 Samuel 6:9 “That day David felt afraid of Yahweh. ‘How can the ark of Yahweh come to be with me?’ he said.”

Luke 1:39 – 45 “Mary set out at that time and went as quickly as she could into the hill country to a town in Judah. She went into Zechariah’s house and greeted Elizabeth. Now it happened that as soon as Elizabeth heard Mary’s greeting, the child leapt in her womb and Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit. She gave a loud cry and said, ‘Of all women you are the most blessed, and blessed is the fruit of your womb. Why should I be honoured with a visit from the mother of my Lord? Look, the moment your greeting reached my ears, the child in my womb leapt for joy. Yes, blessed is she who believed that the promise made her by the Lord would be fulfilled.’”

Revelation 1:17 – 18 “When I saw him, I fell at his feet as though dead, but he laid his right hand on me and said, ‘Do not be afraid; it is I, the First and the Last; I am the Living One, I was dead and look — I am alive for ever and ever, and I hold the keys of death and of Hades.”

Dear brethren and friends, our Lord Jesus Christ is the Key of David, meaning that He is Lord of the royal house of David. King David is most notable among the kings of Israel, the second King of a United Israelite Kingdom and ancestor of the kings of Judah the Southern Israelite Kingdom, David is known as a shepherd, warrior, hero, psalmist, and friend of God. God fulfilled His promise to David, that a descendant of David would reign over a United Israel and over all Nations for Eternity. God fulfilled it by sending His Only Son Jesus Christ to be born of the Blessed Virgin Mary a descendant of David who was betrothed to Saint Joseph also a descendant of David.

O come, now Key of David, come 

And open wide our heavenly home; 

Make safe the way that leads on high, 

And close the path to misery. 

Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel

Shall come to you, O Israel.

Leave a Reply

