10th January 2016 Obedience and Humility are signs of Holiness and Love

Luke 3:15 – 16 “A feeling of expectancy had grown among the people, who were beginning to wonder whether John might be the Christ, so John declared before them all, ‘I baptise you with water, but someone is coming, who is more powerful than me, and I am not fit to undo the strap of his sandals; he will baptise you with the Holy Spirit and fire.”

John 3:27 – 30 “John replied: ‘No one can have anything except what is given him from heaven. ‘You yourselves can bear me out. I said, “I am not the Christ; I am the one who has been sent to go in front of him.” ‘It is the bridegroom who has the bride; and yet the bridegroom’s friend, who stands there and listens to him, is filled with joy at the bridegroom’s voice. This is the joy I feel, and it is complete. He must grow greater, I must grow less.”

Leviticus 19:1 – 2 “Yahweh spoke to Moses and said: ‘Speak to the whole community of Israelites and say: “Be holy, for I, Yahweh your God, am holy.”

Isaiah 40:3 “A voice cries, ‘Prepare in the desert a way for Yahweh. Make a straight highway for our God across the wastelands.”

Jeremiah 31:7 – 8 “For Yahweh says this: Shout with joy for Jacob! Hail the chief of nations! Proclaim! Praise! Shout, ‘Yahweh has saved his people, the remnant of Israel!’ Watch, I shall bring them back from the land of the north and gather them in from the far ends of the earth. With them, the blind and the lame, women with child, women in labour, all together: a mighty throng will return here!”

Ezekiel 34:11 – 12 “”For the Lord Yahweh says this: Look, I myself shall take care of my flock and look after it. As a shepherd looks after his flock when he is with his scattered sheep, so shall I look after my sheep. I shall rescue them from wherever they have been scattered on the day of clouds and darkness.”

Psalm 118:19 – 21 “Open for me the gates of saving justice, I shall go in and thank Yahweh. This is the gate of Yahweh, where the upright go in. I thank you for hearing me, and making yourself my Saviour.”

Luke 3:21 – 22 “Now it happened that when all the people had been baptised and while Jesus after his own baptism was at prayer, heaven opened and the Holy Spirit descended on him in a physical form, like a dove. And a voice came from heaven, ‘You are my Son; today have I fathered you.’”

Dear brethren and friends, today is the last day of the Christmas season and we remember the Baptism of the Lord Jesus Christ. Throughout the Old Testament times, God was preparing humanity for the coming of Jesus Christ His Son, and before Jesus began His public ministry to proclaim the Gospel of the kingdom of God and to heal and liberate us from sins and death, Jesus was baptised in order to sanctify the waters of Baptism with the Holy Spirit. It is here that we see the humility and obedience of St. John the Baptist who openly declared that he is only a voice who prepares the way for the Lord. St. John the Baptist in obedience to the Lord Jesus Christ baptized Him, the soldier baptizes the King. Glory be to the Lord Jesus!

Leave a Reply

