Rekindling of the Baptismal Fire in Us!

 

The main focus of today’s gospel text is baptism. The ritual may seem simple enough which is through water and prayers, but it is so much more than just a Christian tradition.

I am grateful that I was baptized when I was young and that my parents made the choice for me to be baptized as a Catholic and did not leave the choice to me. My parents knew best and I am glad that they chose to introduce me to the Catholic faith at a young age. Strange as it may seem, the sacrament of baptism is my first encounter with God and my faith that has kept me going and growing till today.

In the gospel reading,“The people were filled with expectation, and all were asking in their hearts whether John might be the Christ. John answered them all, saying,”I am baptizing you with water, but one mightier than I is coming. I am not worthy to loosen the thongs of his sandals. He will baptize you with Holy Spirit and fire” (Luke 3:15-22). Baptism does not only mean the repentance and turning away from sin, it also means having that fire to have conviction in our faith. It means to be on fire and to reach out to people around us with the zest and values of a Catholic.

By being baptized, we acknowledge the fact that the fire present in us is none other than the Holy Spirit and we do have the discernment to act in faith, hope and love.

As we enter into ordinary time next week, it marks a new beginning for all of God’s creation into the new year. Jesus is the door to new life and through the waters of baptism and the re-igniting of the fire in us, he can work with us and in us each time we mark ourselves with the sign of the cross and know that he is our master and savior.

We must never allow the baptismal fire to burn out as it will make us vulnerable to the evil one and his influences. The road of repentance and trusting of the spirit goes hand in hand as though it is never easy, it is never impossible if we follow the one who will lead us which is Jesus Christ!

As we reflect on what baptism means to us, may we be reminded of our baptismal promises.

V. Do you reject Satan?
R. I do.
V. And all his works?
R. I do.
V. And all his empty promises?
R. I do.
V. Do you believe in God, the Father Almighty, creator of heaven and earth?
R. I do.
V. Do you believe in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord, who was born of the Virgin Mary was crucified, died, and was buried, rose from the dead, and is now seated at the right hand of the Father?
R. I do.
V. Do you believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy Catholic church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and life everlasting?
R. I do.
V. God, the all-powerful Father of our Lord Jesus Christ has given us a new birth by water and the Holy Spirit, and forgiven all our sins. May he also keep us faithful to our Lord Jesus Christ for ever and ever.
R. Amen.

God Bless! as we always keep the baptismal fire burning in us and always seek forgiveness for the wrongs that we have done and try to make straight our paths in future instances.

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

Leave a Reply

