A common bird

 

A common bird

A plain looking bird

A small bird

Puny and ordinary

But I dare say

Simple and not so fanciful

The Sparrow

The bird I had chosen as my own

For the young school girls with me

Had decided to form a group

The Wingless Club

Such memories bring a smile to my face. . .

Now no longer young

No longer so giddy

No longer that naïve  . . .

Dear Lord, be merciful

Thank you for your reminder

I am your child and I am 

Worth so much more than hundreds

 Of sparrows small and plain

Yes, I am precious in the sight of  God

And for that I can again smile, smile, smile!

 

Leave a Reply

