Surrendering one’s life

If this had been brought up many years ago

When I was so worldly and ungodly

Quite likely it would be that I just turn away

Boldly make a hundred and one lame excuses

But that is the past my friends

Then I had not a single notion of God’s love

No faith, no joy in the Lord

What did I not know or encounter then?

The faithfulness of God

His goodness, love and mercy

His compassion for a poor sinner like me

Yes, some understanding I do now have

A wee bit more

A great deal more

Who, what, when, where, why and how?

Last night, I witnessed one more person

A man of prayer who gives his life to our Lord

So I rejoiced with my brethren at Holy Trinity Church

Well done! Well done, indeed!

One life only to live and to give

Go where He beckons and life is all yours

Fully, abundantly and richly lived!

Now there is no excuse for me

Having come to experience God’s faithfulness

Having been sustained by Him all these years

I will never say that I know not His love

That would be the biggest lie if ever uttered

Yes, God so loved the world that He sent His only Son Jesus Christ so all who believe in Him will not perish but may  have eternal life.

May? Yes, the choice is ours to make

What is yours?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

