Golden Orb Spider – Sungei Buloh

The golden orb spider that has drawn nights

into herself and stolen shards of sun

stretches her legs to the ends of the story

she has spun. I know this laced labyrinth.

 

Many times I walked it, breath held,

arms outstretched, lest I fall

through the merciless gaps, spiral

through chaos, crash

upon the concrete below.

 

Thus trembling I encountered her,

Light-flecked darkness at the heart

of all things, and carried her whispered words

to where the edges of my story

meet the world.

 

Be careful not to break

the glittering map spread between trees

in the middle of your path.

You might save baby pied fantails,

small flies, wriggling moths.

 

But it is my story you destroy,

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

