Ascension of the Lord: Paid In Full & Much More…

 

Imagine a packed court room. The prosecutor is trying to get the alleged suspect to admit to a crime that he did not commit. The judge is impartial and listens to the defendant’s side of the story and cross examines the suspect. The judge hears both sides, and gives a further timing for internal discussions on the case to take place.

The judge then returns at a later time and gives the sentence, saying to the suspect in the stand,”Paid in full and much more.” The suspect is set free and the prosecutor’s findings deemed irrelevant. The analogy is that the judge represents the goodness and mercy of Jesus.

We are all witnesses of the works of Jesus from his death to his resurrection. Therefore, we have a role which is to continue the good works of Jesus through the intercession of the Holy Spirit. Jesus has secured pardon for our sins and the gift of forgiveness and love that we need to uphold.

I feel grateful to be able to attend mass midweek and that by making time for Jesus, he will make a place for us in his kingdom. The gospel reading says,“Then he led them out as far as Bethany, raised his hands and blessed them. As he blessed them he parted from them and was taken up to heaven. They did him homage and then returned to Jerusalem with great joy, and they were continually in the temple praising God”(Luke 24:46-53). 

I was led to a faraway place,away from school and the hectic routine that is life, to be with Jesus during mass. I am grateful for where he leads me in both good and bad times as I trust in his providence. I awake everyday by his grace and I am just willing to be surprised by him everyday. ‘Doing Jesus homage’ echoes the joy of witnessing the birth of Jesus where the wise men did him homage as well.

We do homage during mass which is why I cannot keep emphasizing the importance of not using electronic gadgets. It is a distraction and I still can see people being fidgety and reaching out to check their phones.It is sad that if we miss the chance to do homage and to thank Jesus for his blessings now, we might miss out on more than we know later.

Both the aspects of repentance and forgiveness of sins are important to me as I have to always control both anger and unhappiness in me. This is challenging as it is like a fire that I am trying very hard to extinguish. I guess like the little lights in the night sky, I have to move one step at a time, looking to Jesus and letting the Spirit guide me.

Thank you, Lord, for where you have taken me so far. I know that I am not alone. Keep me close to you. God Bless!

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

Leave a Reply

