Communication & Mercy: A Fruitful Encounter

 

It’s a few days before my last paper this semester. I want to give it my best and in between breaks, I have been trying to pack my things into transparent plastic boxes. Clearing a drawer or a small space around the house can be therapeutic for me in getting organised.

Putting things into a box for storage is a reflection on the gospel reading of the week. “Lifting up his eyes to heaven, Jesus prayed saying:”Holy Father, I pray not only for them, but also for those who will believe in me through their word,so that they may all be one, as you, Father, you are in me and I in you, that they also may be in us, that the world may believe that you sent me”(John 17:20-26). This is a beautiful passage where, after we have finished packing all items in a box, we have that one place to refer to all our stuff instead of them lying all over in a drawer. Likewise, we have Jesus in us and he in us answers our prayers and we can all communicate with him in our hearts.

My family and I grew up praying to the Sacred Heart so the imagery is very poignant in my mind. The heart is where Jesus speaks to us today and he asks us to be open and vulnerable to his messages and teachings. The image of the Sacred Heart is where mercy unfolds and Jesus is always ready to forgive and once we open our hearts, healing and acceptance can begin. “And I have given them the glory you gave me, so that they may be one, as we are one, I in them and you in me, that they may brought to perfection as one, that the world may know that you sent me, and that you loved them even as you loved me”(John 17:20-26). 

The heart is the link to attributes such as compassion,mercy and love that unites families, marriages,friendships and people. Jesus makes us perfect and we do things that are perfect in his eyes which form the interaction between us and others in our daily routines. I am learning to do the best for people in action or just providing a listening ear to others. Since today is also World Communication Sunday, this form of communication must speak the message of love; Jesus says that it is the key to having a perfect relationship with Him in the centre of it all.

We also see Jesus and his relationship with God His father in the reading. I feel that it is surreal and it shows the closeness of God and Jesus.“Father, they are your gift to me. I wish that where I am they also may be with me, that they may see my glory that you gave me, because you loved me before the foundation of the world”(John 17:20-26). It shows how Jesus loves us in calling us gifts and that Jesus wishes for us to experience Him, and this can be done through prayer, reflection and at Mass. The larger picture would be in nature, music, helping the poor and so much more we Catholics are called to do and to guide others.

Are we encountering Jesus in our lives?

I stayed up last night to watch the Bukit Batok By-Elections with my family. I saw that both the parties had the love of their families in supporting them on the campaign journey , and despite the outcome, I felt that both parties are winners as each have their strengths and the residents’ interests at heart. I was looking to see more alternative voices in parliament, and this is to create constructive discussion of policies that are implemented by the government and in having better dialogues. It is also to improve the sandwiched middle class families and those that fall between the cracks. Nevertheless, it can be seen that family support is the key in accomplishing anything, and a family that stays together, prays together.

Jesus has given us more than we can comprehend. He has given us mothers as today is Mothers’ Day. In fact, everyday should be a celebration with our loved ones. We remember our mothers, grandmothers, great-grandmothers, godmothers and women who are sacrificing in one way or another for society or for the family.

In this month of May, we remember our Blessed Virgin Mary and continue to ask her to intercede with us in rosary prayers for peace in our hearts and love and health in our families. May we continue to encounter and be able to see the wonders that Jesus works in our lives throughout the week and beyond.

Praise God and Happy Mothers’ Day!

Do keep all those who are taking examinations in prayers too.

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

Leave a Reply

