Holy Trinity Sunday: In Perfect Communion

 

It has become a habit when we make the sign of the cross or say the glory be during our daily routine. But how many of us actually realise that the Trinity is present – the Father (God), Son (Jesus) and the Holy Spirit. This invocation marks the triumphant celebration of three persons in one God.

I felt that the unity and communion of the three entities is something that strikes me the most. The Father speaks to the Son and the Son obeys the will of the Father, while the Holy Spirit moves between them and also outside of them. The Son also sends forth the Spirit to us so that his good work still continues till this day, 2000 years after the death and resurrection of Jesus. It shows that Jesus is with us all this time and that we are not forsaken. If we come to him with an open heart in seeking repentance, in exchange, he will give us his grace and the Spirit to help us win the many battles against sin.

I noticed that the past week’s gospel readings place the emphasis on the Holy Spirit whom I have learned to rely on more. In the gospel reading,“Jesus said to his disciples:”I have much more to tell you, but you cannot bear it now. But when he comes, the Spirit of truth, he will guide you to all truth. Everything that the Father has is mine; for this reason I told you that he will take from what is mine and declare it to you”(John 16:12-15). 

The Trinity is the perfect unity and communion as they are one and each other works seamlessly as a whole. It is special as this example of humility and mutual respect, understanding and love can be seen in the Trinity. In many ways, the Trinity can be seen in our lives. You might ask, how so? In our families, work, ministries and communities, and there is a need for synergy in order for goals to be met and tasks to be completed.

It takes for everyone to work together and each person to be accepting of one another. That is to work towards a common goal and provide constructive feedback to one another. It is difficult and even more difficult in the secular world as we encounter people who gossip, back-stab or even betray your trust, having gains for their own benefits. Everyone wants a slice of the cake but no one wants to share it. But, the Holy Trinity offers more lasting rewards which is better than fame, authority, wealth or status. We are offered love, respect and compassion, which to me is something that is seriously lacking.

For the Holy Trinity to work within our lives, the first step is to pray. The prayer does not need to be long to be effective. A family that prays together, stays together! This is vital in establishing a prayer culture. Next would be to accept people for who they are, not everything about a person can be changed, especially less than desirable behaviour. My journalism lecturer told me that no matter how much you dislike a person, never burn bridges with anyone as you would not know when you might need help from them. Therefore, I learn to be patient and to pray for them as we do not know about their background enough to judge or comment.

If we cannot take the time or effort to respect, love and understand a person, how can we be open to the Holy Trinity? I find it hard to forgive a person, especially if he or she has caused a big hurt, is unable to see your point and has left you in a lurch. I look to the Holy Trinity with renewed hope that with time, I can put this behind me and move on.

The Holy Trinity is 1+1+1=1 and 1+1=1. Confused? Let it sink in! The Trinity is present when we mark ourselves with the sign of the cross. God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit is ever present and are working together in one body (1+1+1=1). The other equation is applicable to husband and wife which is (1+1=1) which is the relationship between God and Jesus. On this note, may we continue to pray for our families that the Holy Trinity is present and that with time, differences can be reconciled and paths made straight again.

Let us pray for Pope Francis’ intentions for the month of June 2016. For Universal Human Solidarity: That the aged,marginalized, and those who have no one may find-even within the huge cities of the world-opportunities for encounter and solidarity. For Evangelization: Seminarians and Novices:That seminarians and men and women entering religious life may have mentors who live the joy of the Gospel and prepare them wisely for their mission.

I was clearing my old wallet when I came across this poem/prose that I got in secondary school. It is titled “Inside Out” and sometimes change starts from within.

“When I was young and free and my imagination had no limits, I dreamed of changing the world; 

As I grew older and wiser I realised that the world would not change.

And I decided to shorten my sights somewhat and change only my country. But it too seemed immovable.

As I entered my twilight years, in one last desperate attempt, I sought to change only my family, those closest to me, but alas they would have none of it.

 And now here I lie on my death bed and realise (perhaps for the first time) that if only I’d changed myself first, then by example I may have influenced my family and with their encouragement and support, I may have bettered my country, and who knows I may have changed the world.”

Glory be to the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit; to God who is, who was and who is to come. Amen!

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

