Find and Embrace What is Good!

 

Thinking and pondering…How do I prepare a good enough session?

Such a greenhorn I am in preparing a session, but I am slowly getting ideas and piecing them together by the grace and guide of the stirring of the Spirit. Examinations are happening next week, so it’s going to be another long week.

The gospel reading brings to light two different distinct characters  present in all of us, one of which is Simon, the Pharisee and the other, the woman who was a sinner. There are instances where we make the choice to be either one of them. Neither one is perfect, just like how we are not perfect. We struggle everyday to find ourselves but with Jesus, our struggles are not in vain.

“A Pharisee invited Jesus to dine with him, and he entered the Pharisee’s house and reclined at table. Now there was a sinful woman in the city who learned that he was at table in the house of the Pharisee. Bringing an alabaster flask of ointment, she stood behind him at his feet weeping and began to bathe his feet with his tears. Then she wiped them with her hair, kissed them, and anointed them with the ointment”(Luke 7:36-8:3).

Many times, we realise that we are in need of forgiveness and mercy from Jesus and we are called to reconcile with Jesus. We bring our tears,pain and also hopes to Jesus as we tell him everything on our minds and hearts. Only he understands them and can grant us healing. The sinner knows his or her mistakes and that through Jesus, sins can be forgiven and hearts mended. We are called to find love in loving others and Jesus so that if we love more, we are able to forgive more too. It can be hard to continue to walk the path of sin. But if we walk in faith with Jesus, along the way, there are avenues of peace that we can find.

At times,we are like Simon the Pharisee who Jesus said to him, “Do you see this woman? When I entered your house, you did not give me water for my feet, but she bathed them with her tears and wiped them with her hair. You did not give me a kiss, but she has not ceased kissing my feet since the time I entered. You did not anoint my head with oil, but she anointed my feet with ointment. So I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven because she has shown great love”(Luke 7:36-8:3). 

Jesus was not reprimanding Simon but teaching him that no one is perfect and who are we to judge others? Only Jesus can judge us. It is difficult to not judge others but we can be more open in loving them. It means offering them friendship or a listening ear, and if we do the same for others, others will do the same for us and Jesus will do even more for us and others. Even though we are like Simon or the woman, we are called to embrace goodness and be humble in our thoughts and actions.

It is easy to see the bad in a person but we must learn to appreciate the good in them too. For when we are find goodness, I think that we should not let go of this as I think the world needs a little more of goodness to go around. Constantly feeling tired is not helping either as even on the weekends, I am preoccupied with studies. It is hard to keep going at it when others are enjoying themselves with holidays and leisure activities. I struggle to finish tasks as it takes great effort and alot of focus on my side.

Listening to music keeps my mood up and I was left utterly shocked to learn that Christina Grimmie, a musician who is only 22 years old passed away when an assailant shot her 3 times at point blank over the weekend; and  she was signing autographs and meeting fans after a concert. The world has lost so many beautiful talents this year. I listened to her music before when she was not even famous yet.

The most worrying aspect is the gun laws in the United States that are not stringent and security measures such as pat-downs and metal detectors should be used at all venues where there is a mass gathering of people. Christina was Christian and supported pet adoption too, such a young and talent person gone too soon.

Such a tragic loss and I pray that her family will have the support that they need to go through this difficult time of bereavement. May Jesus comfort the family in this time and her music be a legacy  for us to keep following our dreams and do what we are most passionate about.

This cover song “Let It Be” by James Bay is by Christina and the band “Before You Exit” that she performed with at the concert before she lost her life.

“From walking home and talking loads
To seeing shows in evening clothes with you
From nervous touch and getting drunk
To staying up and waking up with you

But now we’re slipping at the edge
Holding something we don’t need
All this delusion in our heads
Is gonna bring us to our knees

So come on, let it go
Just let it be
Why don’t you be you
And I’ll be me?
Everything that’s broke
Leave it to the breeze
Why don’t you be you
And I’ll be me?
And I’ll be me

From throwing clothes across the floor
To teeth and claws and slamming doors at you
If this is all we’re living for
Why are we doing it, doing it, doing it anymore?

I used to recognize myself
It’s funny how reflections change
When we’re becoming something else
I think it’s time to walk away

So come on, let it go
Just let it be
Why don’t you be you
And I’ll be me?
Everything that’s broke
Leave it to the breeze
Why don’t you be you
And I’ll be me?
And I’ll be me

Trying to fit your hand inside of mine
When we know it just don’t belong
There’s no force on earth
Could make it feel right, no

Whoa

Trying to push this problem up the hill
When it’s just too heavy to hold
Think now’s the time to let it slide

So come on, let it go
Just let it be
Why don’t you be you
And I’ll be me?
Everything that’s broke
Leave it to the breeze
Let the ashes fall
Forget about me

Come on, let it go
Just let it be
Why don’t you be you
And I’ll be me?
And I’ll be me”

Life is never fair and that doing good and finding happiness in the good is life well lived.

God Bless as we treasure our talents and have faith that things will be alright again.

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

One thought on “Find and Embrace What is Good!

  1. It just goes to show why and how we must always be vigilant and ready. Time is in the hands of our Creator and not in ours. May the soul of the singer you wrote about rest in peace, through the mercy of God. Amen.

Leave a Reply

