Straight from the heart

 

I attended a poetry session last evening and came away refreshed

The whole session was focussed on one man

A migrant worker who found solace in writing

He wrote non stop so to speak

From a tender age

He was sure that he was writing songs

But his parents who loved him  so much told him

These are poems

Yes, I must add, heart felt poems

Poems that show such sensitivity

And I found my response in tears that flowed

Down my cheeks as Mukul shared

As Mukul, I would dare say, prayed his poems

to an appreciative group of people

among whom was Anne Lee Medallion Winner

Who gave such a beautiful reading of a few poems

Words prayed I dare say

Words that tug at one’s heart strings

Words that bring consolation and relief

Praise the Lord1

 

Leave a Reply

