You are My Strength and My Shield

 

“Yahweh is my strength, my shield; my heart puts its trust in him” (Psalm 28:7).

For when I am weak, I am strong

Finding God in my weakness, problems can be difficult

For when we are preoccupied with our own problems

But we must know that Jesus is beside us

Holding on to our elbow

Just like a child caring for his or her grandparents

Ensuring that they are guided

And that they do not fall

As weeks pass

I feel the word ‘stress’ being repeated over and over again

Has lodged itself into my subconscious

Tired as I am

I am reminded that I have the word of God, prayers and faith

That I can rely on

Just like a squirrel that is preparing for winter

When the trees will become bare

I have to gather enough spiritual nourishment

Trusting that things will be fine

On a Sunday night

When I pass the shops at my place

And see the happy families eating in the warm light

I wish that I had more family time

To go out to a place to just relax

But for now,

I can rest in Jesus

For He is the only one that is keeping me up

And going everyday.

Praise God!

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

Leave a Reply

