Waiting for rain

 

roses bloom on my skin like angry roses, clothes sit awry on me, I am taut as a spiderweb, nothing fits anymore, not my skin my clothes my life.

 

Thus it is when the earth is waiting

for rain. Grasses hold their breath,

immobile, holding all their light,

concentrated, in their blades.

 

The wild wind-horses, stirred

to restlessness, run roughshod

through the angsana trees,

the palm leaves.

 

The sun, quivering,  pours down

amber light upon this hapless insect

rendered immobile in thick sweet honey

staring open- mouthed against glassed air

at a world that knows it no longer.

 

so I pray to this charcoal shadow on the underside of the fatted cloud to hurry, hurry, for the light on the far mountains bruises even as I gaze.

 

We wait for rain: for drops of kindness

upon parched fields that make me weep,

for a fall of sun when all hope of light

has gone. I am waiting for my life

to begin, again and again.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Waiting for rain

  1. Kismetcandle you write such beautiful prose. it moves me sometimes

    From: Many writers To: ekimanna@yahoo.com.sg Sent: Tuesday, 12 July 2016, 15:43 Subject: [New post] Waiting for rain #yiv9357056409 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv9357056409 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv9357056409 a.yiv9357056409primaryactionlink:link, #yiv9357056409 a.yiv9357056409primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv9357056409 a.yiv9357056409primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv9357056409 a.yiv9357056409primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv9357056409 WordPress.com | kismetcandle posted: ” roses bloom on my skin like angry roses, clothes sit awry on me, I am taut as a spiderweb, nothing fits anymore, not my skin my clothes my life. Thus it is when the earth is waitingfor rain. Grasses hold their breath,immobil” | |

Leave a Reply

