Be Still and Listen…

 

It has not been an easy week for me as I have been gripped with feelings of anxiousness and paranoia. My plate is full and I have been struggling to deliver as I battle feelings of tiredness and have to be reminded that I need to breathe over the mountain of responsibilities and expectations. And yet, I am reminded to find time for contemplative and quiet moments with the time that I have.

In the gospel reading, “Jesus entered a village where a woman whose name was Martha welcomed him. She had a sister named Mary who sat beside the Lord at his feet listening to him speak. Martha, burdened with much serving, came to him and said, “Lord, do you not care that my sister has left me by myself to do the serving? Tell her to help me.” The Lord said to her in reply, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and worried about many things. There is only one thing. Mary has chosen the better part and it will not be taken from her”(Luke 10:38-42). 

The gospel is very relatable to me as I am like Martha who is constantly fretting about many things that it never seems to end. However, like Martha, I am reminded to choose the better part which is to listen to Jesus and find time to sit at his feet.

It is difficult to drink water from a slow moving stream than to drink from a fast moving stream which is the message of Jesus today. Do we find time to reflect and remain still in the presence of God? Martha needed to see the bigger picture of spending time with Jesus and it is a good point to note that she still welcomed him which is the first step.

Sometimes, it can be tough to always choose the better part as it can be hard to see this reality due to the distractions around us. Life is only going to get faster as time will pass more quickly but the most important aspect is to always find time to sit and listen to Jesus. We need to be able to see between the temporary compared to the permanent things in life; it is not easy but we should try to pray and reflect on the choices and decisions that we make.

Rather,we are invited by Jesus to follow the example of Mary who dedicates her fullest attention to Jesus and is fixed on the one goal which is the eternal reward in heaven. Mary could see beyond the chores and daily tasks to make time and pay her full one hundred percent of her attention to Jesus. Are we going to choose to be Martha or Mary?

I will try to take small breaks throughout the days ahead in coping with the demands of life. Also, to pray for the strength and endurance that I will be able to see the way out of the woods into fresher and lighter pastures.

Indeed blessed are they who have kept the word with a generous heart and bring a harvest through perseverance. Therefore, I have to sit, pray and reflect.

This is a Christian poem from Helen Dowd titled “God’s Stillness” that is in line with this week’s gospel reading to seek stillness and to recognize Jesus in the hardships and storms that threaten to capsize our spirits.

Oh God, I need a stillness,
Deep within my soul,
That I may feel You ever near,
Though troubled waters roll.

Oh God, I need a stillness
To wait more patiently.
I know You hear my longing cry.
I know You’ll answer me.

Oh God, I need a stillness
To meditate and pray,
A time to get to know You, Lord.
Much better every day.

Oh God, I need a stillness,
My dry soul to renew.
I need Thy Holy Spirit’s power
To fill me through and through.

Oh God, I need a stillness
To know Your perfect will,
To walk the path You’d have me walk.
To hear, “My child, be still.”

God Bless! as we strive to live in the presence of the Lord.

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

2 thoughts on “Be Still and Listen…

  1. Hmmm. . . Be sure that you are not the only one trying to balance your life. At the parish the tag line given was Philippians Chapter 4, Verse 5. I suggest you read it, and be at peace. . . Thanks be to God!

  2. Thank you Josephine! I love the quote alot and yes finding peace can be difficult at times but I will persevere! Praying for everyone also! God Bless

Leave a Reply

