Single spark of golden light

 

The darkness unravels

from the sky

dripping from branches

like raindrops.

 

I have been careless, not

paying attention,

focussed on the path before me

leading to the centre –

 

then the velvet curtain dropped.

The pitter-patter

of my heart quickens the tread

of my steps.

 

In the shadows a firefly

takes pity on me,

leaping from the place where

darkness resides

 

to dance its path before me.

This single spark

of golden light is at once

beacon and balm.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

