Choosing to Amass the Better Treasures

 

“When feeling overwhelmed by a faraway goal, repeat the following; I have it within me right now, to get me where I want to be later.” 

Goals – something tangible but the point is, “Is it always worthwhile chasing after those goals?” I have a long list but I need to shorten it down. It is like a shopping list, so I only need to buy things that I need or not things that I want- for now.

In last week’s gospel reading,”Jesus said to the crowd,”Take care to guard against all greed, for though one may be rich, one’s life does not consist of possessions”(Luke 12:13-21). Greed is everywhere, I see it splashed in the front pages of the newspapers, on tabloids, in the workplace and more so in school where getting that perfect grade point matters the most.

The world has its own definition of richness. It is in the form of material goods, getting the latest technology or even the latest gadgets. People become so caught up in wanting to be the first that they lose sight of the greatest possession which is free and available – God. Thus, we should not be complacent about our faith.

He is the greatest possession because there is an end to life and reaching that end point means we are not able to bring our beloved material goods to the afterlife. So what do we have? Only our soul and this is what we will be able to show to God. I used to feel that getting all caught up in having the latest computer or phone means alot, a sort of status symbol but alas- it does not aid me to the goal which is eternal life.

Jesus also told the people a parable.“There was a rich man whose land produced a bountiful harvest. He asked himself, “What shall I do, for I do not have space to store my harvest?”And he said,”This is what I shall do: I shall tear down my barns and build larger ones. There I shall say to myself, “Now as for you, you have so many good things stored up for many years, rest, drink and be merry!”(Luke 12:13-21).

Many times, we are complacent about our spiritual life. We may have all the riches of the world but just as what God said to the rich man, He says to us,“You fool, this night your life will be demanded of you; and the things you have prepared, to whom will they belong?”Thus will it be for all who store up treasure for themselves but are not rich in what matters to God”(Luke 12:13-21).

We need to choose the right treasures that we want to store up and to think long-term. Is it more of a need or a want? If technology can assist us, which like me, I have just downloaded the New Jerusalem Bible in my phone so I can read it, it is positive. But if we let it distract us or if it becomes an addiction, then we are not in control of our lives.

Jesus has given us his advice in reminding us through the parable that we enter the world with nothing, we will leave the same way that we came, unable to bring anything along with us. The physical things of this earth, we will need to leave behind when the time comes. Therefore, if we are nurtured spiritually, then we can store up the treasure within us which takes root in our minds and hearts- that is the real treasure that we can bring along when we meet Jesus at the end of life’s journey.

As we turn our sights on the treasure that is not of this earth, may we continue to keep in our prayers Pope Francis’s prayer intentions for the month of August.“That sports may be an opportunity for friendly encounters between people and may contribute to peace in the world. That Christians may live in the gospel, giving faith, honesty and love of neighbor.” Also, we pray for the World Youth Day contingency in Krakow,Poland that they may be safe from all harm and experience the mercy and compassion that their intercessions will be granted.

This week will be a busy week as I am having a Catholic freshmen orientation camp from Friday to Sunday. Please pray for me and all the participants that it will be a fruitful and blessed camp.

I will be back next week to pen down my thoughts and here is a song to keep things moving by Switchfoot titled,”Dare you to Move“. It was one of the songs for the camp and one of my favorite songs as it talks about God’s grace and that salvation is right here, right now.

“Welcome to the planet
Welcome to existence
Everyone’s here
Everyone’s here
Everybody’s watching you now
Everybody waits for you now
What happens next
What happens nextI dare you to move
I dare you to move
I dare you to lift yourself up off the floor
I dare you to move
I dare you to move
Like today never happened
Today never happened beforeWelcome to the fallout
Welcome to resistance
The tension is here
Tension is here
Between who you are and who you could be
Between how it is and how it should be

Maybe redemption has stories to tell
Maybe forgiveness is right where you fell
Where can you run to escape from yourself?
Where you gonna go?
Where you gonna go?
Salvation is here

I dare you to move
I dare you to move
I dare you to lift yourself up off the floor
I dare you to move
I dare you to move
Like today never happened
Today never happened
Today never happened
Today never happened before”

Written By: Darren Chan Keng Leong

 

One thought on “Choosing to Amass the Better Treasures

  1. I always find this as one of the most consoling of the Good News – that our treasures lie not in what we possess. It is more than material things, of course.

Leave a Reply

